Ribboned Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This was a great cake! I had a box mix that I wanted to use and this was a great way to dress it up. I added some instant coffee to the cake mix as I was mixing the water in. I also sprinkled a few chocolate chips onto the cake mix before I put the cream cheese mixture on top. The result was fantastic! You never would have guessed that this cake came from a box mix. So wonderfully moist and delicious! Thanks Jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I didn't have any of the problems that are mentioned below but I also have a new, dark and well-coated bundt pan. The cream cheese mixture settled beatifully on the bottom and the presentation was amazing! No one could believe this started with a cake mix. A real saver when you don't have much time but still want to dazzle your guests. I made this for a birthday party and work and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Yes indeed! My family loves this cake so much that I get tired of making it(:The only thing I do different is pour a little of the cake batter in the bundt cake pan before adding the cream cheese mixture. Very Moist Cake!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I've made this a lot and everyone seems to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I put a little spin on the recipe and used a banana cake (from the box) off of this site and added a mashed banana into the cream cheese mixture. I did have extra batter, which I used to make muffins as suggested. It was a beautiful cake with great banana taste. A huge hit with everyone. Next time I will use the fudge cake as I assume it will be just as pretty and delicious! What a clever idea. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and it was not good. The ribbon did not sink into the batter. It cracked off the top. I have never followed a recipe that came out this badly. Too bad, the picture looked nice and the recipe sounded like it would be easy and delicious. What a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Very good! I absolutely loved it! I am rating this as a 4 because the cake stuck to the pan, it was a mess! I made a cream cheese frosting (Excellent) to top it. I don't know why the cake stuck so much. I had to make all the cake pieces stick together with the frosting. Very good though! :-D Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
The ribbon didn't sink quite the way it should and the cake cracked in spots between the white and chocolate, but it was still delicious. I added 1/2 cup cocoa to the cake mix and it really gave the cake some oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I've been making this recipe for years and my favorite version is to use a strawberry cake mix. It comes out beautiful and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This was a great hit with my family. They all raved over it. I thought it was a little lacking in flavor. I used a D Hine's box mix. I think thats part of the problem. I'll try it again but I'm going to go with a scratch recipe next time. I normally do anyway but was pressed for time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States