Ribboned Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I made this for one of our Beach Club functions and everyone loved it. I did add the 2T of unsweetened cocoa & substituted strong brewed coffee for the water as suggested by another user. I used Baker's Joy cooking spray and the cake came out of the Bundt pan without any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This cake was good, but make sure you have a large bundt pan as ours overflowed and was a mess. It was much better after a couple days in the cake keeper. I used regular chocolate fudge frosting I had in the refridgerator and spread it on while the cake was still hot, it worked perfect with no effort for the topping. It looks pretty and was moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christinia W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grandview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I HATE this cake! I couldn't stop eating it and probably gained 2 pounds. Really, it was just wonderful. I frosted it with Sour Cream chocolate frosting, but had to to take some frosting off because it was a bit to rich. Be sure to keep this cake in the fridge and it tastes better the day after you bake it (and the next day...). Thanks for the Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I poured the cream cheese mixture over the top of the cake & it pretty much stayed there throughout the entire baking process instead of sinking to the bottom. Because of this, it took longer for the cake to fully cook and the cream cheese got lightly brown & not very pretty. I followed the recipe... not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
For those wanting a stronger chocolate flavor, try these suggestions: Add a couple tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder to the batter, and substitute room-temperature, strong, brewed coffee for the water called for on the package. Finish with "Satiny Chocolate Glaze" from this website. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Just tried this recipe, and it tastes delicious. However, the cream cheese mixture did not separate from the rest of the cake, and even though the pan was greased and floured, the top of the cake stuck to the pan. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I made this for a cookout and drizzled it with "Satiny Chocolate Glaze". The only touble I had was getting the middle cooked throughly, and about an hour after turning it out onto a plate a couple side pieces started to break away (that when I added the chocolate glaze to cover it up).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REIVEX

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
My mother requested this for her birthday. I made this for her about three YEARS ago, and it made such an impression she wants it again! This cake is really delicious. I think a lot depends on what brand of mix you buy...I find DHines gives the best results. The cream cheese is easiest to beat after it has come to room temp. If you don't have time for that, soften it briefly in the microwave to make mixing it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
The Good News: The cake slid right out of the pan and looked picture perfect. The Bad News: The chocolate part tasted like a cake mix; the cream cheese layer was kind of eggy tasting and was a poor substitute for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Use a 12 CUP Bundt pan! Batter bakes up almost to the top of the 12 cup pan. Do not use a 10 cup! With that said, this cake tastes great and is so pretty. I have made it several times and each time it comes out perfect. It really looks like you have gone to a lot of trouble. When really it is very simple. The chocolate is very mild so if you prefer a strong chocolate taste you will need to add to it. Everyone who has tried this went on and on about how good it is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States