Ribboned Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I fixed this cake for 4 college kids along with a full meal. I think I could have just skipped the meal and fed them cake. They all went wild with this one. The cake was moist, but the middle layer was heavenly. It was very 'cheesecake' like and also moist. I really liked that it did not dry out after cutting it. I chose to not frost or glaze the cake, but instead just sprinkled it with powdered sugar. I asked the kids if they would have liked it better with a glaze, but they all agreed it was sweet enough without and the powdered sugar worked nicely. This recipe will most definitely will be repeated in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I added coconut to the cream cheese mixture and topped with a chocolate glaze. Resembled a Mounds bar! yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This cake was DELICIOUS! I followed the directions exactly, and it turned out perfect! Thanks so much, for sharing your recipe with us! I highly recommend this! Yum yum! :-) Beth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamborghini Gal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
would be a 5 if i could figure out how to make it richer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was rich, but goooood! My first time making a bundt type cake & it came out perfect! I made a chocolate glaze to pour over it. My chocoholic Papaw loved it.. and that's good enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is an amazing cake!! I don't like to use boxed mixes, so I found a homemade "box mix" recipe chocolate cake that is better than Duncan Hines or Betty Crocker! RECIPE:: 2c. flour 1 3/4 c. sugar 1c. cocoa 2t. baking powder 1t. baking soda 1/2t. salt 1/4c. veg. shortening. BLEND this really good till there are no more lumps(I used my bosch mixer with the whisk attachment, worked Great!) This is your mix...you can use it in place of ANY boxed cake mix in a recipe TO FINISH THE CAKE ADD:: 1 1/3c. water 1/2c. oil 3eggs mix together and add to the cake like you would a box. Then continue with THIS recipe as "JO" has it written. WONDERFUL RECIPE THAT I WILL DO AGAIN!!! Gods blessings to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sams girl
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Cake is good, not very fudgy. It is, after all a box cake mix. I used a 10 in. bundt pan and it was full almost to the top, but did not overflow. I did use coffee in place of water to make it a deeper chocolate flavor, but I think I will add cocoa if I make it again. I used the Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Yummy, moist, delicious cake! Tastes great warm, but even better cold. Mine took a little longer to bake than the 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is an excellent cake, I used a dark chocolate cake mix and added 1 cup of coconut to the filling. I glazed it with the Satiny Chocolate Glaze found on this site and my family loved it! So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michilinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I tried to make this tonight, followed the directions and it looked beautiful...until I tried to turn it out. The filling looked gross and the cake stuck so bad that I cannot bring it to work tomorrow. Needless to say I made a very expensive mistake. I hope everyone else has better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States