Ribboned Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
3.5 stars actually. This cake was good, but seeing that it is made from a boxed mix it doesn't rate any higher. The cream cheese layer is very tasty and the "Satiny Glaze" recipe from this site is always perfect. Like others I used coffee in place of the water and some unsweetened cocoa to give a deeper chocolate flavor (a well known trick) which helped the 'boxed' flavor, but I think I might have to retry this recipe with a 'from scratch' chocolate cake to give it the 5 stars I think it could earn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Good dessert, but I have another filling recipe I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I fixed this cake for 4 college kids along with a full meal. I think I could have just skipped the meal and fed them cake. They all went wild with this one. The cake was moist, but the middle layer was heavenly. It was very 'cheesecake' like and also moist. I really liked that it did not dry out after cutting it. I chose to not frost or glaze the cake, but instead just sprinkled it with powdered sugar. I asked the kids if they would have liked it better with a glaze, but they all agreed it was sweet enough without and the powdered sugar worked nicely. This recipe will most definitely will be repeated in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I added coconut to the cream cheese mixture and topped with a chocolate glaze. Resembled a Mounds bar! yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This cake was DELICIOUS! I followed the directions exactly, and it turned out perfect! Thanks so much, for sharing your recipe with us! I highly recommend this! Yum yum! :-) Beth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamborghini Gal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
would be a 5 if i could figure out how to make it richer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was rich, but goooood! My first time making a bundt type cake & it came out perfect! I made a chocolate glaze to pour over it. My chocoholic Papaw loved it.. and that's good enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is an amazing cake!! I don't like to use boxed mixes, so I found a homemade "box mix" recipe chocolate cake that is better than Duncan Hines or Betty Crocker! RECIPE:: 2c. flour 1 3/4 c. sugar 1c. cocoa 2t. baking powder 1t. baking soda 1/2t. salt 1/4c. veg. shortening. BLEND this really good till there are no more lumps(I used my bosch mixer with the whisk attachment, worked Great!) This is your mix...you can use it in place of ANY boxed cake mix in a recipe TO FINISH THE CAKE ADD:: 1 1/3c. water 1/2c. oil 3eggs mix together and add to the cake like you would a box. Then continue with THIS recipe as "JO" has it written. WONDERFUL RECIPE THAT I WILL DO AGAIN!!! Gods blessings to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sams girl
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Cake is good, not very fudgy. It is, after all a box cake mix. I used a 10 in. bundt pan and it was full almost to the top, but did not overflow. I did use coffee in place of water to make it a deeper chocolate flavor, but I think I will add cocoa if I make it again. I used the Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Yummy, moist, delicious cake! Tastes great warm, but even better cold. Mine took a little longer to bake than the 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States