Ribboned Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tlbricker
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
My husband made this cake for me for my birthday last night and I loved it! He baked it 6 minutes less than the recipe called for and it still turned out a little dry, but it was our first bundt cake in our oven, so we will adjust the time or temp next time. Yes, worth a next time! My husband topped the bundt cake with his homemade chocolate ganache and raspberry sauce (I'm so lucky!!) The cream cheese was really good and creamy too. We will definitely try this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I made two cakes with this recipe for a birthday and both were delicious. I added the mini chocolate chips to one and it didn't make a huge difference. Definitely add the cream cheeese after putting in the cake batter; I didn't on the first cake and it didn't work out as well. If you add the cream cheese last it will sink to the bottom of the pan and be positioned on the top of the inverted cake. It got rave reviews from everyone. I will make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
You won't be sorry if you try this recipe. It is AMAZING! I first made it because during my pregnancy, I was craving chocolate. This is the only thing that curbed it. I did follow a fellow reviewers advice: I added 2-3 TBS cocoa and subbed chilled, strong coffee to the cake batter. I also used a double batch of "Satiny Chocolate Glaze" and it is HEAVENLY! I used Baking Pam for the pan and won't make that mistake again - it did not turn loose from the pan well. I've since made it several more times; greasing and flouring the bundt pan and it turns out beautifully. I've made it for a ladies function and for a friends bridal shower and have had several requests for the recipe. I only wish I could say it was mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
My mother asks for this cake every year for her birthday. It is one of the best cakes I've ever had. Not too sweet. I have a paper copy of the recipe with chocolate glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsrahal
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This is sooooo good! It really is magic! I really don't write reviews but this deserves it! 5 stars for SURE! It's one of my favorites! Am
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I made this today but I made a homemade chocolate box cake. It turned out perfectly. The topping is excellent and so different. I will be definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
OMG we all loved this cake! I live in a high-altitude area so I added a couple Tbs powdered cocoa in lieu of flour to the batter, and used leftover coffee from breakfast in place of water. The ribbon came out just like the pic, it was sooo impressive! Topped with a simple chocolate glaze. By all means, serve with a big glass of cold milk. My husband said this was quite possibly the best cake I have ever made, and I've been baking since I was a child. (PS - I not only used a non-stick Bundt pan, but also then sprayed it with Baker's Joy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebinNM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canastota, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I loved the way the cake looked when it was done and cut. I didn't care for the taste. Very similar to something store bought. I like dessert to taste amazing and this wasn't it. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This looked so good. I tried it the day after I saved it. Disappointing. I used a devils food cake - Duncan Hines. I followed the directions exactly. I guess I should have used the bigger bundt pan. The cake went a little bit over the top. The cake itself was dry. I won't be making this again. I have an old recipe that is quite similar, but you drop the cream cheese mixture over the cake batter in a 9x13. Better distributes the mixture throughout the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I had planned to make this one evening, got out all the ingredients and prepared the pan, when I got sidelined with something else. My green in the kitchen husband discovered the recipe on the computer, and I was greeted with a beautiful and delicious cake 90 minutes later! So, simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States