Ribbon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I have been making this for years and it is always a hit, especially when children are at the occasion. I have a different set of directions, that may help some people. Here they are: FIRST LAYER: Dissolve 1 package Jello in 1 cup boiling water for 3 minutes, stirring often. Add 1/2 cup cold water. (I put ice cubes in the water, stir, remove the ice and measure out the 1/2 cup) Slowly pour Jello into buttered glass dish. Refrigerate for 1 hour. Start white layer immediately. WHITE LAYER: Bring 2 cups milk to boil over low heat. Add sugar and stir until completely dissolved. Dissolve Knox gelatin in 1/2 cup cold water; add to sugar and milk. Stir. Pour into blender or food processor. Add sour cream and vanilla. Blend until smooth. Let cool. If it should get too thick as you are making the salad, you can try re-blending. If that doesn’t work, you can warm it gently. However, I have never had a problem. I just stir it each time I need to measure some out. If you do need to re-warm, make sure it cools before you pour it onto a jello layer. After the first layer of jello has been in the refrigerator for one hour AND is firm, spoon (1 1/2 cups) of white layer (make sure it is no longer warm) slowly onto Jello layer. Let set in refrigerator for 30 minutes. Alternate layers allowing 45 minutes of chilling in the refrigerator for jello layers (after first layer) and 30 minutes for white layers. HINT: When I pour a white layer on, I immediately start a new flavor of jello,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
This recipe is poorly written. Where does the vanilla go? Do NOT make the layers as the recipe suggests. Wait to prepare them until right before needed, otherwise they set while waiting their turn in their bowls. Each layer takes approximately 1 hour, so I also recommend that you make the milk mixture right before the first layer sets or it will sit out for hours beforehand, which can't be very good considering it's mainly sour cream and milk. The mold itself is really good. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is definately a keeper, it really adds color to the table. I just wanted to add, that the vanilla goes in the milk and sugar mixture. A member had commented on the instructions not being clear. i made this in 3 1/2 hours. i made all the jellos right after another, i didn't wait 30 minutes in between making jellos as suggested. I just left the jellos on the kitchen counter. They didn't set after three hours. I put the first layer in the freezer for 15 minutes, to get a jump start on it setting quicker. Then, poured in the pan. I let it set 30 minutes in fridge before pouring the white layer. 15 Minutes before i was to pour the next layer, i repeated putting the layer in the freezer for 15 minutes. I noticed the white layers took longer to set. I waited 45 minutes after pouring white layer. i repeated this ritual, till all layers were poured. This took me about 3.5 hours, it was ready to eat 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUN4REGINA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This was a hit at a dessert banquet. I lightly sprayed my pan with cooking spray and it didn't stick at all. I followed another users suggestion to wait to make the milk until ready to use, and I wish I hadn't done that, because it needed some time to set up. Also, I didn't think it would need refrigeration after the white layer, just the jello, but I was wrong there too. The two times I didn't cool it, the white and color mixed. I waited to make each jello until I was ready to use it, then I dissolved my jello in 1c. of hot water, then added 1/2c. ice water to make it quick set, then fridge for 30-40 minutes, and that worked wonderfully. Even with mistakes, it looked great and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I have made this for 4th of July & Memorial Day and like it a lot! The original recipe makes a lot of jello (2 packages of each, doulbe the other ingredients), so I cut it in half. My only other suggestion would be to make the "white" portion of the jello first so it has time to cool, otherwise it tends to melt the other layer of jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Haledon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
Thank you for adding this one Stephanie! Had lost mine and was frantic! Great recipe for the family events, very festive indeed! Shelly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This came out awesome! It did take a long time to make but was worth the effort. I made it red white and blue for the 4th of July. I waited close to an hour between each layer and by the time it was getting close to being done the gelatin was starting to setup in the pitchers. I just gently re-warmed for a minute or two until it was liquefied again and it worked out perfectly. I'm excited to try it again with different colors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
I made this yesterday. My toddler loved it. My husband liked it. My advice is put the flavor you least like in the bottom because it sticks in the bottom (but not too bad!). When you mix the unflavored gelatin with the water, dissolve it well cause it could form tiny little balls of gelatin. I used a mixer to mix the sour cream, milk and gelatin. If you are a jello fan, this is the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
everybody LOVES this recipe! it is now a requirement at all family functions. i coordinate the jell-o colors with the occasion and it always makes for a beautiful and delicious centerpiece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GhettoGourmetGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I used red and blue jello for this salad to make a red, white and blue salad on the Fourth of July. Everyone loved it. Tasty and festive. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssschwingg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cartagena, Bolivar, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States