Ribbon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Very well received at a pot luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I have made this for 4th of July & Memorial Day and like it a lot! The original recipe makes a lot of jello (2 packages of each, doulbe the other ingredients), so I cut it in half. My only other suggestion would be to make the "white" portion of the jello first so it has time to cool, otherwise it tends to melt the other layer of jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Haledon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
this dessert looked very cool and was easy (though time consuming) but it had a minty flavor and I'm not sure where that came from. It also had kind of a chalky texture. I did this for a 4th of July gathering so I used blue raspberry and cherry flavored Jello. I may try this again because it looked SO cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I made this salad last Thanksgiving and it was so good that I am making it again this year! It is delicious and looks so pretty on the table. I was surprised that although it looked like a time-consuming recipe, I made it within a couple of hours. Also, I was able to do other things while waiting for the layers to set up. I plan to make this a tradition every Thanksgiving...it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
My mother-in-law makes a 10 layer gelatin that only takes one hour, it's amazingly good and so easy! This one seems so much more complicated than the recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
We've made this recipe for years.....it's always a hit with Grandma's turkey dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This came out awesome! It did take a long time to make but was worth the effort. I made it red white and blue for the 4th of July. I waited close to an hour between each layer and by the time it was getting close to being done the gelatin was starting to setup in the pitchers. I just gently re-warmed for a minute or two until it was liquefied again and it worked out perfectly. I'm excited to try it again with different colors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This is by far my favorite summer dish ever! So refreshing, and my mother who doesn't even like jello, liked this dish because of the sour cream! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clare, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I have been making this for years and it is always a hit, especially when children are at the occasion. I have a different set of directions, that may help some people. Here they are: FIRST LAYER: Dissolve 1 package Jello in 1 cup boiling water for 3 minutes, stirring often. Add 1/2 cup cold water. (I put ice cubes in the water, stir, remove the ice and measure out the 1/2 cup) Slowly pour Jello into buttered glass dish. Refrigerate for 1 hour. Start white layer immediately. WHITE LAYER: Bring 2 cups milk to boil over low heat. Add sugar and stir until completely dissolved. Dissolve Knox gelatin in 1/2 cup cold water; add to sugar and milk. Stir. Pour into blender or food processor. Add sour cream and vanilla. Blend until smooth. Let cool. If it should get too thick as you are making the salad, you can try re-blending. If that doesn’t work, you can warm it gently. However, I have never had a problem. I just stir it each time I need to measure some out. If you do need to re-warm, make sure it cools before you pour it onto a jello layer. After the first layer of jello has been in the refrigerator for one hour AND is firm, spoon (1 1/2 cups) of white layer (make sure it is no longer warm) slowly onto Jello layer. Let set in refrigerator for 30 minutes. Alternate layers allowing 45 minutes of chilling in the refrigerator for jello layers (after first layer) and 30 minutes for white layers. HINT: When I pour a white layer on, I immediately start a new flavor of jello,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is definately a keeper, it really adds color to the table. I just wanted to add, that the vanilla goes in the milk and sugar mixture. A member had commented on the instructions not being clear. i made this in 3 1/2 hours. i made all the jellos right after another, i didn't wait 30 minutes in between making jellos as suggested. I just left the jellos on the kitchen counter. They didn't set after three hours. I put the first layer in the freezer for 15 minutes, to get a jump start on it setting quicker. Then, poured in the pan. I let it set 30 minutes in fridge before pouring the white layer. 15 Minutes before i was to pour the next layer, i repeated putting the layer in the freezer for 15 minutes. I noticed the white layers took longer to set. I waited 45 minutes after pouring white layer. i repeated this ritual, till all layers were poured. This took me about 3.5 hours, it was ready to eat 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States