Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I made this following the recipe, no alterations....It was excellent...Not too sweet nor too tart ....Perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
After reading the reviews stating the pie being runny & tasting like flour I was hesitant to try this recipe. I did make it and it came out delicious! I didn't change a thing that went into the recipe. I did cook it quite a bit longer but that was all. It wasn't runny nor did the filling taste like flour. My husband loved it as did my neighbors. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
OMG! This recipe is awesome! I made the pie following the recipe with the exception of making a crumb top rather than a top crust. Simple, easy, and super delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This turned out perfectly. Anyone who has issues with it being runny isn't following the recipe correctly! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I made this following the recipe as is, and while the flavor was delicious, it turned out EXTREMELY runny! There is SO much excess liquid. Also some of the rhubarb did not cook thoroughly enough. I would recommend cooking the rhubarb ahead of time before putting it into the filling to better the flavor and decrease some of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOUDTISA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I followed some other suggestions: added an extra half cup of sugar, let the filling mix sit in the flour/sugar for the full 30 minutes, made a lattice top crust, let the pie sit in the oven for 20 minutes after turning the oven off when it was done cooking. It's the best strawberry rhubarb pie I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUDTISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bayside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This was very simple and delicious! I read the reviews and used 3 cups rhubarb, 3 cups strawberries, and the cornstarch trick (1/4 cup water + 2 tablespoons starch). After the filling sat for 30 minutes there was liquid that developed from the sugar and the cornstarch. I did NOT put this liquid into the crust, so my pie was not runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Podgornaia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I loved this recipe. I followed the directions exactly and the pie was perfect. It was not runny at all and after cooling down, we had it for dessert. I did make a lattice top crust, so maybe that helped to keep it from being runny. The rhubarb was fresh from our garden, so it was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Napoleon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I used my summer frozen berries: 2 cups of rhubarb/ 2 cups of strawberries(and added fresh granny smith apples) I heated the strawberries and rhubarb on the stove and then drained the syrup (saved for ice-cream). Then I put them in a bowl and added the ingredients (sugar- reduced to 3/4c, flour, and butter) I layered the bottom of the pie with the apples and then spooned the strawberry and rhubarb mixture on it, finished it off with another layer of apples and covered the pie. It was a hit and gone before the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I actually doubled the amount of rhubarb. Oh my goodness!!! This was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States