Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Delicious! I used fresh rhubarb and followed this recipe exactly (used 3 cups each of strawberries and rhubarb per pie) and the pie turned out perfectly. We cut into it when it was completely cool and the consistency was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I have made this pie recipe a few times and it is always loved. I use a weave pattern for the top crust which lets more moister cook out, leaveing a pie that is not as runny and nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I made this following the recipe, no alterations....It was excellent...Not too sweet nor too tart ....Perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
After reading the reviews stating the pie being runny & tasting like flour I was hesitant to try this recipe. I did make it and it came out delicious! I didn't change a thing that went into the recipe. I did cook it quite a bit longer but that was all. It wasn't runny nor did the filling taste like flour. My husband loved it as did my neighbors. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
OMG! This recipe is awesome! I made the pie following the recipe with the exception of making a crumb top rather than a top crust. Simple, easy, and super delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This turned out perfectly. Anyone who has issues with it being runny isn't following the recipe correctly! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I made this following the recipe as is, and while the flavor was delicious, it turned out EXTREMELY runny! There is SO much excess liquid. Also some of the rhubarb did not cook thoroughly enough. I would recommend cooking the rhubarb ahead of time before putting it into the filling to better the flavor and decrease some of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOUDTISA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I followed some other suggestions: added an extra half cup of sugar, let the filling mix sit in the flour/sugar for the full 30 minutes, made a lattice top crust, let the pie sit in the oven for 20 minutes after turning the oven off when it was done cooking. It's the best strawberry rhubarb pie I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUDTISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bayside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This was very simple and delicious! I read the reviews and used 3 cups rhubarb, 3 cups strawberries, and the cornstarch trick (1/4 cup water + 2 tablespoons starch). After the filling sat for 30 minutes there was liquid that developed from the sugar and the cornstarch. I did NOT put this liquid into the crust, so my pie was not runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Podgornaia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I loved this recipe. I followed the directions exactly and the pie was perfect. It was not runny at all and after cooling down, we had it for dessert. I did make a lattice top crust, so maybe that helped to keep it from being runny. The rhubarb was fresh from our garden, so it was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Napoleon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States