Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
made just as rated with a homemade crust and it was AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Very good! Maybe a bit too tart - next time I'll use more strawberry and less rhubarb. Also, the very first step in this recipe is "preheat oven" In the second step, you mix some ingredients and wait 30 minutes. Unless your home is chilly and you need to warm it up a bit, wait a bit before preheating the oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Just a note that you don't need to turn the oven on right at the beginning as the first step. Because ideally you want the fruit/sugar/flour mixture to rest for 30 minutes before cooking, you have lots of time to get the oven up to temp after mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KATHLEENR
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Great recipe. I let it cool overnight and ate it the following evening, not runny at all. I made it with a crumb topping (1 c flour, 1/2 c brown sugar, 1/2 c butter)and it's absolutely delicious. Not too tart nor too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
My family and I thought the strawberry flavor overpowered the rhubarb. It was more sweet than tart, but that's a taste preference. I will add a little less strawberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
We thought this was pretty good. It wasn't runny but I made it the day before we ate it and the rhubarb wasn't tough at all. We really enjoyed the recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Used the French Pastry Pie Crust by TJ (the BEST). Ended up leaving sugar mixed with S-R overnight in fridge. Then added another 1/4 cup of flour + 1 T Corn starch before putting in pie crust. Let it cool in the oven and then put it in the fridge overnight. Was a little runny at first (because it was left over night in sugar) but after removing a little of the liquid, it thickened perfectly and made the most delicious S-R Pie ever!! Gets better with age!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Delicious! I used fresh rhubarb and followed this recipe exactly (used 3 cups each of strawberries and rhubarb per pie) and the pie turned out perfectly. We cut into it when it was completely cool and the consistency was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I have made this pie recipe a few times and it is always loved. I use a weave pattern for the top crust which lets more moister cook out, leaveing a pie that is not as runny and nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I made this following the recipe, no alterations....It was excellent...Not too sweet nor too tart ....Perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States