Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This was the best strawberry rhubarb pie I've ever had! I used 4 cups of sliced strawberries and 1 pound of frozen rhubarb. After letting it sit for 30 minutes, there was a lot of leftover juice in the bowl, which I didn't add in to the pie. I kind of drained the fruit before putting it in. That way, it wasn't runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
SOOO good :) love the use of yolk and sugar to add that sweet crispy crunch to the crust!! I will be making this again after strawberry picking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Stoykovich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Runny, undercooked, and gross!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This is a great recipe. It is very easy and tastes yummy. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. Be sure to let it cool before cutting into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elaine
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I never made a strawberry/rhubarb pie before. I picked fresh fruit this week, checked out recipes from Joy of Cooking, Better Crocker Cook Book, friends, etc. and decided on Terri's - an excellent choice. I followed her recipe exactly, using 3 cups strawberries and 3 cups rhubarb (I think that is how the weight translated). I followed another reader's suggestion to let the pie sit in the cooling oven for 20 mins after baking time elapsed, then I set the pie on the counter until the next morning before cutting. Thank you, Terri. This is a wonderful old fashioned recipe I will keep and share. See photos (my crust burned a little b/c my turntable stopped turning!). Note: An oven temp might read 400 degrees, but in actuality it might be 360. Invest in an oven thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Great flavor, easy to make, looked beautiful pulling it out of the oven, otherwise very disappointing. After cutting into it, it was all water hadn't thickened at all and the rhubarb wasn't even cooked. Guess I'll have to go back to cooking the rhubarb and strawberries into a filling separately before putting it in a pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Great recipe. if you want to kick it up a notch, add a tsp of almond extract. delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamadrag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Auberry, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This recipe is amazing! My husband LOVES it! I will definitely be using this recipe again. So helpful. But if you want to save some time, just buy the premade crust in the store. I recommend the one in the biscuit section. It makes it fast and easier for those with a time crunch and it tastes just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brundidge, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cullman, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
My Hubby Loves when I make him this. It's his favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chelseabell
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Your salvation is here, bakers! I have made this pie twice with vastly different results, so I can finally reveal to you why the reviews for this recipe are 50% glorious and 50% horrendous. Each time I followed the recipe exactly as is with one crucial difference - a difference which makes or breaks this particular pie! The first pie turned out beautiful and my family demolished it at Easter dinner. For this pie I used fresh strawberries and FROZEN RHUBARB. Everyone raved and raved about how good it was. Unfortunately, my husband and I got no pie after they were done with it! So I made it again this evening. This time I used fresh strawberries and FRESH RHUBARB. As other reviewers have noted, it turned into a disgusting soupy mess. The bottom and sides of the crust completely disintegrated as it cooled! So, do not be scared of the seemingly bipolar reviews. The author of this recipe should not have said that fresh or frozen rhubarb will do. Use FROZEN RHUBARB and this will turn out fabulous. Use FRESH RHUBARB and it will make you cry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelseabell
Home Town: Pinson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States