Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
One pound of rhubarb = 3 cups chopped rhubarb or 2 cups of cooked rhubarb. One pint of strawberries = 2 cups of sliced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I added a dash of cinnamon and allspice. Let it rest and 2 tablespoons of cornstarch. It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I used 3 cups of each. It was better the first time I made it, think I cooked it too long this time. I'll go back to following the original insructions, take pie shield off after 30 min. I also think I'm going to use a little bit less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this for my family and they loved it. It was the first pie I made and it was fun. The taste was great and I plan on making it more in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
After reading other reviews, I added a tsp. of cinnamon, zest from one orange and a 2 tsp. corn starch to fruit mixture. I let in stand in turned-off oven for a while after baking time and used a lattice top to be sure rhubarb was cooked through. The pie looked and smelled wonderful and the filling was just right too! Not runny, not crunchy, perfect balance of sweet and tart. Took it to a summer BBQ and everyone went nuts over this pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenpear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Shared this pie with five friends - they all agreed that it was delicious! I cooked the pie the evening before and followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I have used both fresh and frozen rhubarb in this recipe and both have turned out great. The filling does tend to be a little soupy, so I just make sure I drain the rhubarb and strawberry juiced before letting them set in the flour mixture. Make sure you seal the edges of the crust together tightly because they will leak while baking. I just put mine on a tin foil lined cookie sheet in the oven to prevent any spilling. I find the tartness of the rhubarb great. They also freeze nicely. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Don't forget to brush egg white on the pie crust so that it won't get soaked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
My father-in-law asked if I would try to make this pie for him. Mom and I made two today, 1 double crust and 1 with an open design on top. Both turned out beautifully. Excellent recipe. Not runny and not dry. A+++.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacey Siedlecki Krajci
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
A very nice, thick filling. Not runny at all. Extremely tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States