Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Runny, undercooked, and gross!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This is a great recipe. It is very easy and tastes yummy. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. Be sure to let it cool before cutting into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elaine
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I never made a strawberry/rhubarb pie before. I picked fresh fruit this week, checked out recipes from Joy of Cooking, Better Crocker Cook Book, friends, etc. and decided on Terri's - an excellent choice. I followed her recipe exactly, using 3 cups strawberries and 3 cups rhubarb (I think that is how the weight translated). I followed another reader's suggestion to let the pie sit in the cooling oven for 20 mins after baking time elapsed, then I set the pie on the counter until the next morning before cutting. Thank you, Terri. This is a wonderful old fashioned recipe I will keep and share. See photos (my crust burned a little b/c my turntable stopped turning!). Note: An oven temp might read 400 degrees, but in actuality it might be 360. Invest in an oven thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Great flavor, easy to make, looked beautiful pulling it out of the oven, otherwise very disappointing. After cutting into it, it was all water hadn't thickened at all and the rhubarb wasn't even cooked. Guess I'll have to go back to cooking the rhubarb and strawberries into a filling separately before putting it in a pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Great recipe. if you want to kick it up a notch, add a tsp of almond extract. delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamadrag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Auberry, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This recipe is amazing! My husband LOVES it! I will definitely be using this recipe again. So helpful. But if you want to save some time, just buy the premade crust in the store. I recommend the one in the biscuit section. It makes it fast and easier for those with a time crunch and it tastes just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brundidge, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cullman, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
My Hubby Loves when I make him this. It's his favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chelseabell
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Your salvation is here, bakers! I have made this pie twice with vastly different results, so I can finally reveal to you why the reviews for this recipe are 50% glorious and 50% horrendous. Each time I followed the recipe exactly as is with one crucial difference - a difference which makes or breaks this particular pie! The first pie turned out beautiful and my family demolished it at Easter dinner. For this pie I used fresh strawberries and FROZEN RHUBARB. Everyone raved and raved about how good it was. Unfortunately, my husband and I got no pie after they were done with it! So I made it again this evening. This time I used fresh strawberries and FRESH RHUBARB. As other reviewers have noted, it turned into a disgusting soupy mess. The bottom and sides of the crust completely disintegrated as it cooled! So, do not be scared of the seemingly bipolar reviews. The author of this recipe should not have said that fresh or frozen rhubarb will do. Use FROZEN RHUBARB and this will turn out fabulous. Use FRESH RHUBARB and it will make you cry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelseabell
Home Town: Pinson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Made it exactly as there recipe said but followed "Jennifer's" advice and cut the rhubarb into very small pieces and did a lattice pie top. Only four people for Easter dinner. No pie left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PegInPhilly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caldwell, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I did it, my very first pie and my husband's favorite. Easy and so good especially with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States