Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was the best! Very sweet. And satisfying, especially with homemade whipped cream. The only thing I did differently was to drain the strawberries and rhubarb after letting it soak in the liquid. Otherwise the pie might have been runny. Other than that variation, I followed this recipe and was impressed with the results. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
The best I've ever had! Also works well with Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
never had this kind of pie until I made this one. OMG! It was so good. Made one for a friend and she said it was the best she's ever had. Brought one into work the other day and everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. As long as I can find the Rhubarb and get the Strawberries this will be a pie that I will make all the time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Fantastic! I used thawed/drained chopped rhubarb that I had frozen fresh. The strawberries I purchased were of varying sizes so I quartered the larger ones. Followed the recipe to the letter, added a little ground cinamon to the filling and made a lattice top crust. Baked exactly 40 min. on a sheet pan (very juicy). Perfect balance of tartness/sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I have not made this exact recipe for Strawberry Rhubarb pie, but it is similar to the one I use. I use 2 1/2 cups rhubarb and 2 1/2 cups strawberries to 1 cup sugar and 1/4 c. cornstarch. as other reviewers stated, you will have a slightly runny pie until it is completely cool. i cook 15 min. at 450, then reduce heat to 350 for 45 minutes and the pie comes out perfect every time. i also add 1/4 tsp. nutmeg to the sugar cornstarch mixture before i stir into the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Colorado, USA
Living In: Weeping Water, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This recipe was great! I didn't change a thing and it set perfectly and had just the right amount of sweet/tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
The flavor of this was down right perfect. My only gripe about this pie was that the filling was a little on the gummy side, as the flour didn't seem to incorporate fully. I mixed the fruit with the flour and other ingredients and let it all sit together while I made the crust in hopes of preventing this from happening, but was not successful. I am not sure what else to do in this situation. Won't keep me from making this pie again. My husband and I both love strawberries and rhubarb together and this one had the perfect sweet, tart combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I love this pie but the last couple of times I have made it it has come out runny what am I doing wrong. but my family loves the taste of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Wonderful!!!! This was my first time making a rhubarb pie. It is my husband's absolute favorite pie (his grandmother's specialty),so intimidated was an understatement. I found this recipe seriously simple, and absolutely delicious. I made it as scripted, and did bake it a little longer since we are at high altitude. The hubs said it was perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
changed the recipe a bit. Made a homemade shell. Cooked the strawberries and rhubarb with a bit of water and sugar to taste then thickened with cornstarch. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States