Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Lindy_tx
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I love both strawberries and rhubarb, but this pie was a disappointment. The fillling was so running that slices could not be served and it was very pasty. I wil look for another recipe for Strawberry-Rhubabb Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindy_tx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amanda
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Great recipe. Tastes just like when grandma used to make it! My variations from the recipe: 1. Turbinado raw cane sugar instead of white sugar (1:1 ratio) just because it's what I had. 2. Lattice on top instead of full crust. 3. Brushed almond milk on top instead of egg yolk. (Might be helpful for vegetarians who don't buy cow's milk or eggs.) I cooked mine for the full time (40 min) and let it sit for at least an hour. It was still warm when we cut it, but not runny at all! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I made this pie exactly how the recipe directs. The pie tastes great, but was really runny (like strawberry rhubarb soup). I suggest taking steps identified in others' comments to cut down the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This pie was excellent. Everyone loved it. I read the reviews and tented tin foil on top baked it at 425 for 20 min then 35 min at 375. Then took the foil off the top and browned the top (about 10 min)I made a lattice top for it and none of the juices spilled out. I did add about a tbsp of cornstarch to the sugar/flour mixture. I let it sit for 2 hours before cutting and was a tad bit juicy but not running everywhere. Would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
phenomenal pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lysa166

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was so yummy! The only problem I had with it was it was a bit sweeter than I wanted. I will definitely make this again but add less sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I personally didn't like this pie. There was not alot of flavor; kind of blan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
very good combination.... because other reviewers had a problem with the pie being runny I added a couple tablespoons of quick tapioca to the sugar mix and then also sprinkled some on the bottom crust before filling... no problems at all... great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is a GREAT recipe, my whole family loved this pie! I followed the recipe to a T and it came out PERFECT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This pie was delicious, but I too ended up with a runny pie. I made no changes. I took it out when the crust was brown at 35 minutes, but the filling wasn't bubbly. Maybe this was my problem? I even had a pie shield on, but I felt if I left it in any longer the crust would be overdone. I used a basic shortening crust with lattice top. It was definitely cooled when we cut into it... so runny, though, that I almost wanted to pour off the liquid (I resisted.) It tasted fabulous, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States