Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is a very simple and very yummy recipe. For those who found the pie too runny but don't want to go through the hassle of pre-cooking the rhubarb, try using a lattice top instead of the double crust called for in the recipe. It lets alot of the moisture out. Also, be sure to let the filling sit the whole 30 min before pouring into crust, and let the pie sit in the oven 15-20 min after baking (oven should be turned OFF) to let the excess fluids thicken. If you do all of those steps, the pie won't be runny, nor will it taste floury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I've made this pie twice, first as written & the second time I made some changes. Using flour, the pie was runny & tasted like flour. So, the second time, I put the rhubarb in a large pot, added the sugar & 1/4 to 1/2 cup of water with 2 Tablespoons of corn starch dissolved in the water. I cooked it until it thickened. I removed the pot from the stove & added the raw strawberries. I poured the mixture into the crust & dotted with butter. It turned out much better with the cornstarch. Not too much liquid & no flour taste. Also, I just brush the top crust with milk & sprinkle with some sugar & nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
689 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This has the perfect proportion of sugar and flour! I used about 3 cups each of strawberries and chopped rhubarb. I put foil on the edges of the crust, baked at 425 for 15 min. , took off the foil, turned it down to 375 for 45 more min. With pies like this, you cannot just cut into them fresh from the oven, or they run all over the place. I made this at 9 at night, then cut into it the next day in the afternoon, no runniness at all. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
375 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Reading the reviews, most of them saying the pie was runny, I had my concerns about this but they were definitely unfounded. The pie is excellent. And that means the recipe is excellent. I didn't change a thing, nor will I in the future. I can only think that those who experienced a runny pie either cut into it before it was completely cooled, or didn't cook it long enough - when you see the juices bubble up through the vented crust, that's a pretty good indicator the pie is done. I used "Basic Flaky Pie Crust," also from this site, and the result was simply a beautiful and delicious pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This was amazing! I went strawberry picking yesturday and made the pie today along with local fresh rhubarb. i changed the recipe by using 3 cups each of strawberries and rhubarb. i didn't use the flour but instead (as previously mentioned) mixed 1/4 cup of water with 2 tablespoons of cornstarch and let it sit with the berries, rhubarb and sugar for 30 minutes. i also baked the pie for 15 minutes at 425 and then 40 minutes at 375. we let the pie cool for about 3-4 hours and it's not runny at all!! this was so good that i'm making 2 more of these pies to give to my family and neighbor! also just a note - you don't need to cook the rhubarb before hand - you need to make sure it's chopped up (about 1/4 inch) and also if you notice the skin is a little tough, peel it a little bit. thanks so much for a recipe that i'll definitely use again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
strawberry rhubarb pie is supposed to be runny--it is an all fruit filling. What I found out however,is that if you wait 1 day after baking the pie, the juice inside seems to thicken a little bit. You could also use some tapioca to thicken the filling, but this only takes away from the natural flavor of the fruit filling. Using a little bit more flour or substituting flour for cornstarch also makes the filling a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
This pie was really good. I've made many rhubarb pies and I've never soaked or cooked the rhubarb prior to putting it in. Either those of you who have the "crunchy rhubarb" problem have extremely tough rhubarb, or you're cutting it into chunks that are too big. I cut mine approx. 1/4" in width. I also agree with another person that this pie is a bit too sweet. Perhaps our rhubarb is not as bitter as others. It's all in the rhubarb I guess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This could be a great recipe if you would have mention that one should cook the rhubarb 1st .........when the pie was done in the oven the rhubarb was not cooked and the pie was very sour that it needs more sugar.....I will try making this pie again in the future but with cooked rhubard and more sugar.......thank you for sharing this recipe with us...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I added a cup of water to the rhubarb, strawberrys and sugar and cooked it on top the stove until the rhubarb was cooked up then put it in the pie shell. It was wonderful!! Just dont forget to put foil under your pie tin so it doesnt drip on the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Just like several reviewers, I too had a very runny pie. I baked according to directions, the top was golden and looked perfect, but sooooo runny. What I discovered though, was upon reheating in the microwave it seemed to firm up and was just the way it should be. Delicious, warm, and covered with French vanilla ice cream. Not a total loss, but next time I will bake longer with the crust protected with aluminum foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States