Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This recipe sounded good, we had never had rhubarb so wanted to try it. We bought rhubarb at the local farmers market. I followed the recipe to the letter so i don't know what happened. By reading some of the other reviews, I made a lattice top. It was really pretty but that is all the good I can say. 1st. The pie was so runny it was like soup and the rhubarb was crunchy. Don't think we will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
made just as rated with a homemade crust and it was AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Very good! Maybe a bit too tart - next time I'll use more strawberry and less rhubarb. Also, the very first step in this recipe is "preheat oven" In the second step, you mix some ingredients and wait 30 minutes. Unless your home is chilly and you need to warm it up a bit, wait a bit before preheating the oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Just a note that you don't need to turn the oven on right at the beginning as the first step. Because ideally you want the fruit/sugar/flour mixture to rest for 30 minutes before cooking, you have lots of time to get the oven up to temp after mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KATHLEENR
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Great recipe. I let it cool overnight and ate it the following evening, not runny at all. I made it with a crumb topping (1 c flour, 1/2 c brown sugar, 1/2 c butter)and it's absolutely delicious. Not too tart nor too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
My family and I thought the strawberry flavor overpowered the rhubarb. It was more sweet than tart, but that's a taste preference. I will add a little less strawberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
We thought this was pretty good. It wasn't runny but I made it the day before we ate it and the rhubarb wasn't tough at all. We really enjoyed the recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Used the French Pastry Pie Crust by TJ (the BEST). Ended up leaving sugar mixed with S-R overnight in fridge. Then added another 1/4 cup of flour + 1 T Corn starch before putting in pie crust. Let it cool in the oven and then put it in the fridge overnight. Was a little runny at first (because it was left over night in sugar) but after removing a little of the liquid, it thickened perfectly and made the most delicious S-R Pie ever!! Gets better with age!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Delicious! I used fresh rhubarb and followed this recipe exactly (used 3 cups each of strawberries and rhubarb per pie) and the pie turned out perfectly. We cut into it when it was completely cool and the consistency was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I have made this pie recipe a few times and it is always loved. I use a weave pattern for the top crust which lets more moister cook out, leaveing a pie that is not as runny and nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States