Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Very good pie. Made it for a party for work many said it was the best they ever had. Gave it a 3 because It was a little runny not bad for a rhubarb pie though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I loved this recipe. I was afraid it would be runny due to other reviews so I took the advice of someone else. I cooked it the 35-40min BUT when it was done I turned off the oven but left the pie in for another 15min! Huge difference in the filling. It bubbled and was clearly thick vs when the oven originally wentoff and it was still s little runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I tried this recipe.. taste was good.. soggy crust factor didn't work for me. I know people say that strawberry rhubarb pie is suppose to have a "wetness" . I did a lattice top to allow for extra drying... the next time I will strain the liquid made from the fruit and try thickening it in a skillet with more cornstarch then return to the pie with fruit. And will most likely brown the bottom crust a bit too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shayda
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
delicious!! made this as easy as possible on myself and used a 10 oz bag of frozen organic rhubarb, 1 lb strawberries and refrigerated dough. followed the recipe exactly as is.definitely making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This is so easy to make and comes out perfect every time! I have made it with just strawberries and cut back on the sugar and it was great as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llshamess
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Loved this recipe. I didn't have any problems that previous posters had. It was delicious right out of the oven. Not runny at all. You must wait the entire 30 mins before filling pie shell that is the key I think. Making it again today. Plan to add less sugar this time as I found it a bit sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
The recipe did not indicate to make slits in the top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I have a question. I was raised to peel the rhubarb before cooking or baking. Was this because the stalks were so huge? Ours grew on a bank with stream running below it in Upstate New York. It was always at least 1" thick and there was always more than we could use. I sure wish I had it down here in Kentucky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spotedlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronston, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AshleyV
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This is my go-to recipe for Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie. I NEVER precook the rhubarb, and it's always perfectly cooked. If you're experienced with pies, you would check the consistency of the filling (through the slits/lattice) before removing the pie from the oven. The amount of flour needed will vary, depending on the juiciness of the strawberries. I usually end up adding 1/4 c - 1/2 c more flour, but I wait to add it until the mixture has sat for the 30 minutes, then add as needed. I never have any trouble with the sweetness of the pie, and 40-45 minutes at 400 degrees seems to consistently do the trick. Besides adjusting the amount of flour in the filling, letting the pie sit for several hours (overnight is best) seems to make the most difference in the consistency. The last time I baked one, it came out of the oven around 2:15 in the afternoon, and was PERFECT at about 9:00 the next evening. I usually do a lattice top crust, but that's really just for aesthetics. When it comes to adding the butter, I generally don't unless I'm being lazy and using pre-made crusts; my crust recipe has PLENTY of butter to go around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Did not like the pie. It was bland and runny even after setting up for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States