Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Awesome. Only thing I changed was, before baking, put foil on the edges of the crust, and bake at 425 for 15 minutes. Then, I turned the heat down 375° and took foil off. If you don't do this, your pie will be very runny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I reduced the sugar by about a third. Before putting on the top crust, I added the juice of one lemon. This enhanced the taste of both the strawberries and the rhubarb. The taste of the rhubarb was **much** better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
This recipe is awesome. No need to cook rhubarb before hand at all. This recipe is maybe not going to fit everyone as the posts I read had concerns. One posts states "should have mentioned to cook rhubarb". They didn't mention it because that's not how their recipe went. Maybe the fault was you not cutting your rhubarb small enough. Nothing wrong with suggestions but to be critical is out of line to me. Nothing wrong with added changes though. Very good pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Hedrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Everyone loved the pie! Next time I need to not forget to put in the butter and I'll make a homemade crust instead of store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
I found this recipe had a couple of flaws. First, as others have mentioned, it is too runny as written. The next time I will eliminate the butter, and try the corn starch others suggested. The suggested cooking time was not quite enough for the top of the pie in my oven, more like 45 minutes. Don't forget to shield the edges, as I almost did! I do not understand pre-cooking the rhubarb. If you pull off any outside strings that are tough when you cut the stalks, and chop the rhubard in 1/4 in. chunks, it will soften just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Loved this! I used fresh strawberries and frozen rhubarb, and cornstarch and 1/4 cup of water in place of flour. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly. Turned out beautiful, the yolk gives it a golden shine. I baked it for 38 minutes, let it cool for 8 hours. It was SO runny and the rhubarb was crunchy, very disappointing. The flavor was still great, but unappealing with the crunchiness. I will probably try a similar recipe but will precook the rhubarb or bake longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Very good pie. Made it for a party for work many said it was the best they ever had. Gave it a 3 because It was a little runny not bad for a rhubarb pie though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I loved this recipe. I was afraid it would be runny due to other reviews so I took the advice of someone else. I cooked it the 35-40min BUT when it was done I turned off the oven but left the pie in for another 15min! Huge difference in the filling. It bubbled and was clearly thick vs when the oven originally wentoff and it was still s little runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I tried this recipe.. taste was good.. soggy crust factor didn't work for me. I know people say that strawberry rhubarb pie is suppose to have a "wetness" . I did a lattice top to allow for extra drying... the next time I will strain the liquid made from the fruit and try thickening it in a skillet with more cornstarch then return to the pie with fruit. And will most likely brown the bottom crust a bit too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States