Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This pie sure was pretty but as a first time strawberry rhubarb pie maker, I didn't know you are supposed to boil the rhubarb first and the directions do not even mention it. I took it to work and the rhubarb was crunchy! I would boil it or something before making the filling because we all had to pick it out if the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This was great, but I applied other's suggestions. Cook on 425 with foil around the edges for 15min, remove foil and reduce temperature to 350 for 45 min, then turn off the oven and let rest for 30 minuets in the warm oven. Finally, remove and let cool completely before cutting to avoid runniness. As a side, note, this calls for a lot of material to be added to the pie. I recommend using a cookie sheet under the tin to catch any drips in case you don't seal the edges perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
One pound of rhubarb = 3 cups chopped rhubarb or 2 cups of cooked rhubarb. One pint of strawberries = 2 cups of sliced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I added a dash of cinnamon and allspice. Let it rest and 2 tablespoons of cornstarch. It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I used 3 cups of each. It was better the first time I made it, think I cooked it too long this time. I'll go back to following the original insructions, take pie shield off after 30 min. I also think I'm going to use a little bit less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this for my family and they loved it. It was the first pie I made and it was fun. The taste was great and I plan on making it more in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
After reading other reviews, I added a tsp. of cinnamon, zest from one orange and a 2 tsp. corn starch to fruit mixture. I let in stand in turned-off oven for a while after baking time and used a lattice top to be sure rhubarb was cooked through. The pie looked and smelled wonderful and the filling was just right too! Not runny, not crunchy, perfect balance of sweet and tart. Took it to a summer BBQ and everyone went nuts over this pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenpear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Shared this pie with five friends - they all agreed that it was delicious! I cooked the pie the evening before and followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I have used both fresh and frozen rhubarb in this recipe and both have turned out great. The filling does tend to be a little soupy, so I just make sure I drain the rhubarb and strawberry juiced before letting them set in the flour mixture. Make sure you seal the edges of the crust together tightly because they will leak while baking. I just put mine on a tin foil lined cookie sheet in the oven to prevent any spilling. I find the tartness of the rhubarb great. They also freeze nicely. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Don't forget to brush egg white on the pie crust so that it won't get soaked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States