Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this for my family and they loved it. It was the first pie I made and it was fun. The taste was great and I plan on making it more in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
After reading other reviews, I added a tsp. of cinnamon, zest from one orange and a 2 tsp. corn starch to fruit mixture. I let in stand in turned-off oven for a while after baking time and used a lattice top to be sure rhubarb was cooked through. The pie looked and smelled wonderful and the filling was just right too! Not runny, not crunchy, perfect balance of sweet and tart. Took it to a summer BBQ and everyone went nuts over this pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenpear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Shared this pie with five friends - they all agreed that it was delicious! I cooked the pie the evening before and followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I have used both fresh and frozen rhubarb in this recipe and both have turned out great. The filling does tend to be a little soupy, so I just make sure I drain the rhubarb and strawberry juiced before letting them set in the flour mixture. Make sure you seal the edges of the crust together tightly because they will leak while baking. I just put mine on a tin foil lined cookie sheet in the oven to prevent any spilling. I find the tartness of the rhubarb great. They also freeze nicely. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Don't forget to brush egg white on the pie crust so that it won't get soaked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
My father-in-law asked if I would try to make this pie for him. Mom and I made two today, 1 double crust and 1 with an open design on top. Both turned out beautifully. Excellent recipe. Not runny and not dry. A+++.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacey Siedlecki Krajci
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
A very nice, thick filling. Not runny at all. Extremely tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Read the reviews how to make it less runny. Add flour or tapioca or corn starch to the rhubarb/strawberry filling. Cream cheese layer on the crust is something to try. This is a favorite worth learning to perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
easy, good taste, I did the lattice crust which helps if its a bit juicy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I made this tonight for dessert. I followed the recipe pretty closely except I used 1/4 C. cornstarch mixed into about 2-3 T water. I read about the crunchy rhubarb and cut mine a little smaller than I normally would have - I won't do that next time. I thought it was sweet enough, others thought it was not. The concensus of the eaters was 4 stars. Will definitely make this again! Thanks Terri for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States