Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by shayda
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
delicious!! made this as easy as possible on myself and used a 10 oz bag of frozen organic rhubarb, 1 lb strawberries and refrigerated dough. followed the recipe exactly as is.definitely making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This is so easy to make and comes out perfect every time! I have made it with just strawberries and cut back on the sugar and it was great as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llshamess
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Loved this recipe. I didn't have any problems that previous posters had. It was delicious right out of the oven. Not runny at all. You must wait the entire 30 mins before filling pie shell that is the key I think. Making it again today. Plan to add less sugar this time as I found it a bit sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
The recipe did not indicate to make slits in the top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I have a question. I was raised to peel the rhubarb before cooking or baking. Was this because the stalks were so huge? Ours grew on a bank with stream running below it in Upstate New York. It was always at least 1" thick and there was always more than we could use. I sure wish I had it down here in Kentucky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spotedlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronston, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AshleyV
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This is my go-to recipe for Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie. I NEVER precook the rhubarb, and it's always perfectly cooked. If you're experienced with pies, you would check the consistency of the filling (through the slits/lattice) before removing the pie from the oven. The amount of flour needed will vary, depending on the juiciness of the strawberries. I usually end up adding 1/4 c - 1/2 c more flour, but I wait to add it until the mixture has sat for the 30 minutes, then add as needed. I never have any trouble with the sweetness of the pie, and 40-45 minutes at 400 degrees seems to consistently do the trick. Besides adjusting the amount of flour in the filling, letting the pie sit for several hours (overnight is best) seems to make the most difference in the consistency. The last time I baked one, it came out of the oven around 2:15 in the afternoon, and was PERFECT at about 9:00 the next evening. I usually do a lattice top crust, but that's really just for aesthetics. When it comes to adding the butter, I generally don't unless I'm being lazy and using pre-made crusts; my crust recipe has PLENTY of butter to go around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Did not like the pie. It was bland and runny even after setting up for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SusanK101
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I had a bunch of frozen frozen rhubarb (at least 2 cups) and frozen strawberries (about a pint) that I thawed out and used here. I squeezed out some water from the rhubarb for fear it would be too much liquid when I baked it. I pretty much followed the directions but added 2 tablespoons of tapioca beads just for a little extra thickening. I followed someone else hint at leaving the pie in the oven a good 20 minutes after it was done baking: I didn't open the door, just turned off the heat. It looks perfect and a little dribble that came out gelled up nicely and was sweet and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This pie sure was pretty but as a first time strawberry rhubarb pie maker, I didn't know you are supposed to boil the rhubarb first and the directions do not even mention it. I took it to work and the rhubarb was crunchy! I would boil it or something before making the filling because we all had to pick it out if the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This was great, but I applied other's suggestions. Cook on 425 with foil around the edges for 15min, remove foil and reduce temperature to 350 for 45 min, then turn off the oven and let rest for 30 minuets in the warm oven. Finally, remove and let cool completely before cutting to avoid runniness. As a side, note, this calls for a lot of material to be added to the pie. I recommend using a cookie sheet under the tin to catch any drips in case you don't seal the edges perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States