Rhubarb Upside Down Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2004
This cake was great! You can't let it cool before serving, though unless you hide it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This cake is an awesome use of rhubarb! Both my husband and I loved it! I used sugar-free gelatin (instead of regular) and a white cake mix (instead of the yellow), but it still turned out great! I was amazed that you couldn't even tell there were marshmallows in the recipe. For some it may be a bit tart, but I thought it was a perfect mix of sugar and rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Bay, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
Very easy and very good recipe. I wouldn't change a thing. Our whole family loved it. I will be making this quite often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
This recipe is fantastic, in texture, & taste. The only problem I had was it was too big for an 13x9 pan & I couldn't turn it out as it was too juicy. YUMMY fo the TUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
I will say that I did not care for this recipe at all, but I did have 2 guests rave about it. The cake does not look appealing because the jello turns into a goo on the top of the cake. I would try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
Like the previous reviewer, I found this cake to be a little too gooey and I would never make it again. I am not sure if it is the sugar combined with the rhubarb, or the gelatin creating the problem. I also thought it was too sweet, definately determine the tartness of the rhubarb and adjust the sugar accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
I gave this recipe 4 stars only because I changed a lot of things in it but the end result was definitely 5 stars! Here's what I did. I put in 2 cups of rhubarb with 3 cups of crushed pineapple. I did NOT put in marshmallows. I used the reserved pineapple juice in the cake mix instead of water. I have 4 kids (8 years old and younger) who loved this recipe. They loved the red glaze on top. And had me make it for their slumber party. 2 of the kids at the party told me they hated rhubarb but loved my cake. I'm definitely going to do this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Excellent way to use rhubarb beside just pie. A little sweet for my taste, next time I'll use just 1/2 cup sugar. The upside down part is nice and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
My ex-mother-in-law used to make this cake and I'd been searching for 10 years for a similar recipe. This was it!! I'm thrilled to be able to enjoy this wonderful (and easy!) cake again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beatrice, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Daykin, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This didn't taste good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States