Rhubarb Upside Down Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I have this recipe and just tried it out a week ago....tastes great. What I did different on mine was first arrange chopped rhubarb in pan, then mix jello (I used sugar free raspberry)with the sugar, sprinkle that over the rhubarb, then sprinkle the marshmallows over that evenly, then spread the cake batter. After baking, COOL for 10 minutes, then run your knife around the edges and invert onto a foil covered cookie sheet (or whatever you plan to use). Then I covered mine with Saran Wrap and placed it in the fridge to cool completely. Serve cold and store it in the refrigerator! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This recipe has been in my family for years...Everyone LOVES it! I use raspberry jello, if I don't have strawberry, and it is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This didn't taste good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
My ex-mother-in-law used to make this cake and I'd been searching for 10 years for a similar recipe. This was it!! I'm thrilled to be able to enjoy this wonderful (and easy!) cake again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beatrice, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Daykin, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Excellent way to use rhubarb beside just pie. A little sweet for my taste, next time I'll use just 1/2 cup sugar. The upside down part is nice and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
I gave this recipe 4 stars only because I changed a lot of things in it but the end result was definitely 5 stars! Here's what I did. I put in 2 cups of rhubarb with 3 cups of crushed pineapple. I did NOT put in marshmallows. I used the reserved pineapple juice in the cake mix instead of water. I have 4 kids (8 years old and younger) who loved this recipe. They loved the red glaze on top. And had me make it for their slumber party. 2 of the kids at the party told me they hated rhubarb but loved my cake. I'm definitely going to do this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
Like the previous reviewer, I found this cake to be a little too gooey and I would never make it again. I am not sure if it is the sugar combined with the rhubarb, or the gelatin creating the problem. I also thought it was too sweet, definately determine the tartness of the rhubarb and adjust the sugar accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
I will say that I did not care for this recipe at all, but I did have 2 guests rave about it. The cake does not look appealing because the jello turns into a goo on the top of the cake. I would try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
This recipe is fantastic, in texture, & taste. The only problem I had was it was too big for an 13x9 pan & I couldn't turn it out as it was too juicy. YUMMY fo the TUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
Very easy and very good recipe. I wouldn't change a thing. Our whole family loved it. I will be making this quite often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States