Rhubarb Upside Down Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
This is one of THE BEST recipes for rhubarb. I am not a big rhubarb fan, but this is delicious and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
This is one of my favorite cakes, but I have always made it with a small box of jello instead of the sugar. I have found using the watermelon or strawberry jello to be the best. It just seems to give it an added kick, but is not quite so sweet as it is with marshmallows AND sugar. My favorite is the watermelon jello. It gives it that right amount of tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
This cake tasted wonderful. I was really suprised at how easy it was and how few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This was a great recipe...for those of us who like rhubarb without the fake flavors of jello. Didn't use the box mix though, instead i used a scratch recipe for butter cake. Cooked down the rhubarb first, as my pan wasn't deep enough for all the stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Absolutely delicious!!! I reduced the sugar to 2/3 cups and the cake came out perfect; just the right tartness. The whole family loved this moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This was a great easy recipe. The rhubarb was a little tart but was great warm with whipped cream on it. My pan was really full but everything fit in without overflowing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This is the first time I have EVER made anything with Rhubarb. I followed the recipe, and it is delicious. Just enough tart/sweet. I wondered if the cake would overflow the pan, but it didn't. I'd suggest chopping the rhubarb into really small pieces to make sure the batter fits in the pan. This would be good with cinnamon ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BogiesGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was really delicious!!! Couldn't have been easier, and I was a little worried about the ingredients, but it was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogiesGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I've never had or made anything with rhubarb and tried this recipe. This was the easiest recipe and tasted wonderful. Took some to work and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smokies66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I have made this a few times now and really like the flavor and chose this recipe over other ones because there isn't any strawberry jello in. It lets the rhubarb flavor really come through. The cake ratio is off. There is too much cake. This would be better in a 11 x 14 and maybe increase the rhubarb. I used a golden butter cake mix instead of yellow because I like the flavor better. And I only used 1/2 cup of sugar. I only needed to cook this for 45 minutes. This is a pretty good size cake to try and flip over. I did not have a platter/plate big enough, so I just left it in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States