Rhubarb Upside Down Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This recipe was extremely easy to make. I did not add 1 cup of sugar instead I only added 1/2 cup and this was definitely enough as it still was very sweet. I used a glass pan and my cake was fully baked in 45 minutes. My family loved every last bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I decreased the amount of sugar a bit - which I do with just about all dessert recipes. Other than that, I made the cake exactly as written and there was no need for any changes/additions. It's great as is and no mods are needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This cake is great. I did reduce the sugar and it was perfect. I tried it two ways with the jello and without and it was better without the jello. The jello seemed to mask the flavor of the ruhbarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
great cake the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I just finished baking and eating a piece of this delicious cake! I followed the suggestion of another user and used some dry strawberry jello powder (only about 2 tablespoons, so it wouldn't be overpowering).I added that to 1/2 cup sugar and then mixed it in with the fruit. It turned out wonderfully and I don't think it's too sweet at all. I baked mine is a greased bundt pan and it looks lovely! I can't wait to share this tastey cake with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kolinasiris
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Better right side up Y'all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBRAR003

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Very easy to make and delicious! I used a strawberry cake mix instead of the yellow and it was wonderful! My kids loved it and it was easy enough that they could help make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I have made this a few times now and really like the flavor and chose this recipe over other ones because there isn't any strawberry jello in. It lets the rhubarb flavor really come through. The cake ratio is off. There is too much cake. This would be better in a 11 x 14 and maybe increase the rhubarb. I used a golden butter cake mix instead of yellow because I like the flavor better. And I only used 1/2 cup of sugar. I only needed to cook this for 45 minutes. This is a pretty good size cake to try and flip over. I did not have a platter/plate big enough, so I just left it in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I've never had or made anything with rhubarb and tried this recipe. This was the easiest recipe and tasted wonderful. Took some to work and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smokies66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BogiesGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was really delicious!!! Couldn't have been easier, and I was a little worried about the ingredients, but it was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogiesGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States