Rhubarb Upside Down Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
This is one of my favorite cakes, but I have always made it with a small box of jello instead of the sugar. I have found using the watermelon or strawberry jello to be the best. It just seems to give it an added kick, but is not quite so sweet as it is with marshmallows AND sugar. My favorite is the watermelon jello. It gives it that right amount of tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Absolutely delicious!!! I reduced the sugar to 2/3 cups and the cake came out perfect; just the right tartness. The whole family loved this moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I just finished baking and eating a piece of this delicious cake! I followed the suggestion of another user and used some dry strawberry jello powder (only about 2 tablespoons, so it wouldn't be overpowering).I added that to 1/2 cup sugar and then mixed it in with the fruit. It turned out wonderfully and I don't think it's too sweet at all. I baked mine is a greased bundt pan and it looks lovely! I can't wait to share this tastey cake with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kolinasiris
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This is the first time I have EVER made anything with Rhubarb. I followed the recipe, and it is delicious. Just enough tart/sweet. I wondered if the cake would overflow the pan, but it didn't. I'd suggest chopping the rhubarb into really small pieces to make sure the batter fits in the pan. This would be good with cinnamon ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
This is one of THE BEST recipes for rhubarb. I am not a big rhubarb fan, but this is delicious and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This was a great recipe...for those of us who like rhubarb without the fake flavors of jello. Didn't use the box mix though, instead i used a scratch recipe for butter cake. Cooked down the rhubarb first, as my pan wasn't deep enough for all the stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Very easy to make and delicious! I used a strawberry cake mix instead of the yellow and it was wonderful! My kids loved it and it was easy enough that they could help make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
This cake tasted wonderful. I was really suprised at how easy it was and how few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe stated and it was very yummy. Just the right combo of sweet and tart. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I've never had or made anything with rhubarb and tried this recipe. This was the easiest recipe and tasted wonderful. Took some to work and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smokies66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States