Rhubarb Surprise Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2000
I received a similar recipe years ago from a lady in a nursing home but lost it during a move. Hers was even easier to make. It incorporated a white cake mix. Does anyone know how to modify this recipe to accomodate that change? Whomever posted this recipe, thank you:) It comes close to what I am seeking. No doubt yours is just as YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
The recipe was easy to make, but could use a little more sugar. Also, I would prefer a flakier crust. I think it would be really good with maybe 1/4 to 1/3 c. sugar added with the jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2000
Excellent. The whole family loved it. A unique combination of a pie and a crisp and oh soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
My mom was had a recipe like this and lost it. So when we found this one we wre surprised. She did not think anybody had one. She made it for a banquet and it was a hit. I think it is a great recipe. I like adding the jello rather than the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
The crust is a little hard, but the filling is wonderful! I'm going to try using a regular pie crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
Agree with comments about crust, the recipe basically makes a shortcake crust (much like biscuit mix). That may be healthier than a normal crust though. Jello is a neat idea and it really works - this is GREAT for me, because the garden has a ton of rhubarb but can't seem to grow strawberries :-p Crumb topping is very nice, I found myself stealing it off other pieces of pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
This is a SURPRISE!!! Lots of raves and oohs and ahhs. Used a 10" pie plate - had 5 cups of rhubarb so used it all - It turned out just super - sure will be making again and again.A little Ice cream or whip cream added on top just hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
This recipe is great! What a suprise. I made it to take to a get together and everyone loved it. I found that I could change the Jell-o flavor and add some brown sugar to topping for a different twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Great recipe. Just make sure you use the 3 cups of rhubarb (could use up to 3 1/2 if wanted to), or you won't have alot of filling to equal with the crust. I used frozen rhubarb that i had put in the freezer, came out fine. My father loved it and hubby who isn't fond of rhubarb liked it too!!. I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
This is great, I'll be making this again many times. I added 1/4 cup chopped walnuts to the crust, increased the rhubarb to 4 cups & added an extra TBSP milk in the crust. I have a rhubarb plant that is an over achiver and am always looking for new GOOD rhubarb recipes. This one fits the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States