Rhubarb Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
My mom and grandma used this recipe, just to put a little spin on things, I substituted cherry jello. Oh Yummmmy, Mom likes it better than the strawberry, next I will try raspberry flavored jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Question for you experts - when you chop the rhubarb and add the sugar - do you leave it on the counter overnight or place it in the fridge overnight?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Sorry but this is just way way way too sweet. I used 6 C of chopped fresh rhubarb and cut the sugar to 2 C. I tasted it before I put in the Jell-O and knew it was going to be too sweet so only put in 1/2 the pkg. The jam was so incredibly sweet that I had to toss it. If I had more rhubarb or some fresh berries I would have added those to try and salvage it but didn't have anything. If I try this again it will be with at least 6 C of fruit and only 1 C of sugar, will also add some fresh lemon or grapefruit and zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Excellent. Use 6 cups Rhubarb and only 2 or 2 1/2 cups sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Yum! Perfect Recipe!! I did however had about a cup of strawberries to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This Jam is soooo good and so easy ! We love it. I made it last year and it is all gone ! I will have to make another batch once this years Rhubarb is ready !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
The best tasting delicious jam I have ever had and simple to make, A great recipe to double and give away to friends and family since it needs to be refridgerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I canned this so will say more. Wow, what a great idea to use strawberry jello! This came out GREAT. First, I let the rhubarb sit more like 16-18 hours so that it would really break down. Then, when I was stirring it, I used a potato masher. This broke down the pieces even more. I then poured it into hot jars and processed for 10 minutes in boiling water. Seals took fine. I really love the consistency. No big chunks but still like jam. Jelled by not to a jelly consistency. For me, this yielded four 8 oz jars and two 4 oz jars. One of the 8 oz jars wasn't quite full enough for canning so I put it in the fridge. I probably could've made it work by redistributing but I knew it would get eaten so why bother?! I served it poured over cream cheese with crackers. The family inhaled it! I will definitely make this again. I'm also going to try using jello with some different fruits for jams, such as strawberry jam and adding blackberry jello. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is a very easy recipe, and quite yummy. I've had friends bring their jar back for "refills"!! Is a tad on the sweet side, but when I used Splenda in place of half of the sugar, the jam remained pretty runny. Obviously the sugar is important for the "gelling" aspect. It was still tasty, even when runny! Made as the recipe directs (with sugar) it sets up just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by transplanted Texan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is a great recipe! I only had 3 1/2 cups rhubarb so I added the remaining with blueberries and it was amazing! I decreased the sugar to 2/3 cup sugar and then added 2/3 cup Splenda. It was perfect! I used the sugar free Sparkling Wild Berry jello bc it is what I had on hand. This turned out to be a great compliment to the changes I made. Will be making another batch! Update: the first batch was incredible and I have just made #2 and did the fruit the same way (since a 1 pound bag of frozen rhubarb is about 3 1/2 cups, then added the remaining with blueberries.) Since I was using the Wild Strawberry Jello (with sugar) I used only 1/2 cup each of sugar and Splenda. I found it to be sweet enough and so I only added 2/3 of the package of Jello. It set up just fine. A wonderful recipe that you can alter very easily and still get amazing results that everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States