Rhubarb Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This recipe came out really good, but REALLY sweet! Instead of boiling the jam for 12 minutes on low heat, I boiled it for about 5 minutes on high heat. Boiling the jam on high heat ensures that it will jell properly and kills bacteria more effectively than on low heat. Also, I decided to process the jam instead of just refrigerate or freeze. I ladled the hot jam into hot, sterilized jars, and placed then in a boiling water bath canner and processed for 10 minutes. All the jars sealed nicely. Thanks for the recipe, I can't wait to try other flavors of jello!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
458 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
We LOVE this jam and have been making it non-stop since I found the recipe. (We have lots of rhubarb to use up...) Fresh or frozen rhubarb both work well. To cut back on the sweetness a bit, I increase the rhubarb to 6 cups and reduce the sugar to 2-1/2 cups. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
Previously, I had made a recipe that was almost identical to this, except that it called for a package of frozen strawberries. When I came across this recipe, I thought I'd try it as is, but I had 2 pounds of strawberries in my refrigerator. I chopped up one pound of strawberries and added them to the pot during the cooking stage. What a difference! It turned out really well. I just finished making my second batch in less than a week. I expect to make much more of this this summer (of course, I end up giving quite a bit away). My only tip is to cook the mixture until the rhubarb is soft (I don't even pay attention to cooking times).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
I have a question. The recipe doesn't say how long the jars will last. Could you freeze it for longer storage? Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
okay-very sweet. Also, if you get the jam hot enough, you can just put it in your jelly jar, screw on the cap,turn it upside down, and cover it with a towel and it will seal so you can store it in the cabinet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I took advice of another & used food processor as I didn't want to wait overnight. I was going to use all Splenda but only had 2 cups on hand so added 1 c sugar. Also used Sugar Free Strawberry Gelatin. End result was delicious. Going to try all Splenda next time. Thanks for this very easy tasty recipe. I love simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Very good recipe!!! I doubled the recipe and cut the sugar down to 5 c. total. I did process the jam in a hot bath. This recipe doubled makes 12 eight oz. jelly jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Just great! I doubled the recipe and did half rhubarb and half strawberries. Got about 6 pint ball jars of jam. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trumpet Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
this is a fantastic recipe! i found wild strawberry jello which added a nice little kick to the jam. i've never had rhubarb before and found myself loving it! great recipe! oh yeah, i also substituted the sugar with splenda which great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
The recipe as stated is not very good unless you like the taste of 'jello' in your jam., I prefer the taste of real fruit, so I made some changes, and it turned out delicious. I used 1/2 pkg fruit pectin added to the rhubarb in the beginning, and added real strawberries- about 2 cups. 1/2 the sugar, and made the recipe according to the pectin directions. I still added 1/4 pkg of the jello at the end for color, and it is soooo much better this way..I also did not let the rhubarb sit in sugar. That ruins the natural 'tartness' of the rhubarb. Made as is, the jam tastes like strawberry jello-made this way- it tastes like strawberry rhubarb jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy4876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States