Rhubarb Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
The best tasting delicious jam I have ever had and simple to make, A great recipe to double and give away to friends and family since it needs to be refridgerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I canned this so will say more. Wow, what a great idea to use strawberry jello! This came out GREAT. First, I let the rhubarb sit more like 16-18 hours so that it would really break down. Then, when I was stirring it, I used a potato masher. This broke down the pieces even more. I then poured it into hot jars and processed for 10 minutes in boiling water. Seals took fine. I really love the consistency. No big chunks but still like jam. Jelled by not to a jelly consistency. For me, this yielded four 8 oz jars and two 4 oz jars. One of the 8 oz jars wasn't quite full enough for canning so I put it in the fridge. I probably could've made it work by redistributing but I knew it would get eaten so why bother?! I served it poured over cream cheese with crackers. The family inhaled it! I will definitely make this again. I'm also going to try using jello with some different fruits for jams, such as strawberry jam and adding blackberry jello. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is a very easy recipe, and quite yummy. I've had friends bring their jar back for "refills"!! Is a tad on the sweet side, but when I used Splenda in place of half of the sugar, the jam remained pretty runny. Obviously the sugar is important for the "gelling" aspect. It was still tasty, even when runny! Made as the recipe directs (with sugar) it sets up just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by transplanted Texan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is a great recipe! I only had 3 1/2 cups rhubarb so I added the remaining with blueberries and it was amazing! I decreased the sugar to 2/3 cup sugar and then added 2/3 cup Splenda. It was perfect! I used the sugar free Sparkling Wild Berry jello bc it is what I had on hand. This turned out to be a great compliment to the changes I made. Will be making another batch! Update: the first batch was incredible and I have just made #2 and did the fruit the same way (since a 1 pound bag of frozen rhubarb is about 3 1/2 cups, then added the remaining with blueberries.) Since I was using the Wild Strawberry Jello (with sugar) I used only 1/2 cup each of sugar and Splenda. I found it to be sweet enough and so I only added 2/3 of the package of Jello. It set up just fine. A wonderful recipe that you can alter very easily and still get amazing results that everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
the very best, easiest jam recipe yet! I love it! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenners
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Wonderful Recipe!!! My children absolutely love it and often eat the left over jam with a spoon. I use 10 cups of rhubarb and 5 cups of sugar. I don't refrigerate, just simmer for about an hour until the rhubarb is soft and falls apart. Makes 4 pint jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Wonderful! My husband and kids cannot get enough of it. I followed other reviews and decreased the sugar as well as using only 3/4 of the jellow so it tasted more tart from the rhubarb! I also pureed the rhubarb as my husband loves the taste of it but hates the stringy texture! I've made this many times this summer and have a freezer full of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
The jello made the jam lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wolf Point, Montana, USA
Living In: Ephrata, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Very good, but definitely reduce the sugar. I, too, added some fresh strawberries to the cooking pot, after the rhubarb had been cooking awhile. I doubled the recipe, using 12 cups of rhubarb and 5 cups of sugar and that was plenty sweet. I got twelve one-cup jars (which will be great for gifts) and almost 2 cups leftover for my own fridge. I did process them for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Melin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Everyone in my house loves this jam. I make it as often as I can pick the rhubarb off our plant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Real Food Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States