Rhubarb Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This is very easy to make!! Came out a little too sweet with the 3 cups of sugar and the strawberry really covered up the rhubarb taste so my suggestion for rhubarb fans is add 6 cups of rhubarb and keep sugar still at 3 cups. To answer another posters question..I leave it sit out of the refrigerator overnight before cooking the next morning so that the juices come out of the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Zuch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
YUM! This is so SO good. I know, it sounds a little weird getting the strawberry flavor from Jello, but trust me when I say that you'll want to eat it with a spoon! It's SO good. I used 8 cups rhubarb, 4 cups sugar. Next time I'll use less sugar. It made 8 8oz jars which I canned, processing for 10 minutes. And the best part is that you could use any combination with this recipe. The doors are open!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadkins77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
OMG! This was so good and so easy. My God daughter asked for it for her b-day. I canned it for longer storage and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Definatley one of the best jams I have ever had. I did take the advice of many people and cut down on the sugar a bit. I used 2 3/4 cups. My first thought was jam is supposed to be sweet. The decrease in sugar lets the tangy flavor of the rubarb come through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
My mom and grandma used this recipe, just to put a little spin on things, I substituted cherry jello. Oh Yummmmy, Mom likes it better than the strawberry, next I will try raspberry flavored jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Question for you experts - when you chop the rhubarb and add the sugar - do you leave it on the counter overnight or place it in the fridge overnight?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Sorry but this is just way way way too sweet. I used 6 C of chopped fresh rhubarb and cut the sugar to 2 C. I tasted it before I put in the Jell-O and knew it was going to be too sweet so only put in 1/2 the pkg. The jam was so incredibly sweet that I had to toss it. If I had more rhubarb or some fresh berries I would have added those to try and salvage it but didn't have anything. If I try this again it will be with at least 6 C of fruit and only 1 C of sugar, will also add some fresh lemon or grapefruit and zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Excellent. Use 6 cups Rhubarb and only 2 or 2 1/2 cups sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Yum! Perfect Recipe!! I did however had about a cup of strawberries to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This Jam is soooo good and so easy ! We love it. I made it last year and it is all gone ! I will have to make another batch once this years Rhubarb is ready !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States