Rhubarb Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This is very easy to make!! Came out a little too sweet with the 3 cups of sugar and the strawberry really covered up the rhubarb taste so my suggestion for rhubarb fans is add 6 cups of rhubarb and keep sugar still at 3 cups. To answer another posters question..I leave it sit out of the refrigerator overnight before cooking the next morning so that the juices come out of the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Zuch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
YUM! This is so SO good. I know, it sounds a little weird getting the strawberry flavor from Jello, but trust me when I say that you'll want to eat it with a spoon! It's SO good. I used 8 cups rhubarb, 4 cups sugar. Next time I'll use less sugar. It made 8 8oz jars which I canned, processing for 10 minutes. And the best part is that you could use any combination with this recipe. The doors are open!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadkins77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
OMG! This was so good and so easy. My God daughter asked for it for her b-day. I canned it for longer storage and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Definatley one of the best jams I have ever had. I did take the advice of many people and cut down on the sugar a bit. I used 2 3/4 cups. My first thought was jam is supposed to be sweet. The decrease in sugar lets the tangy flavor of the rubarb come through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
My mom and grandma used this recipe, just to put a little spin on things, I substituted cherry jello. Oh Yummmmy, Mom likes it better than the strawberry, next I will try raspberry flavored jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Question for you experts - when you chop the rhubarb and add the sugar - do you leave it on the counter overnight or place it in the fridge overnight?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Sorry but this is just way way way too sweet. I used 6 C of chopped fresh rhubarb and cut the sugar to 2 C. I tasted it before I put in the Jell-O and knew it was going to be too sweet so only put in 1/2 the pkg. The jam was so incredibly sweet that I had to toss it. If I had more rhubarb or some fresh berries I would have added those to try and salvage it but didn't have anything. If I try this again it will be with at least 6 C of fruit and only 1 C of sugar, will also add some fresh lemon or grapefruit and zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Excellent. Use 6 cups Rhubarb and only 2 or 2 1/2 cups sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Yum! Perfect Recipe!! I did however had about a cup of strawberries to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This Jam is soooo good and so easy ! We love it. I made it last year and it is all gone ! I will have to make another batch once this years Rhubarb is ready !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States