Rhubarb Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I used Strawberries, as I do not have Rhubarb where I am at. It turned out great. It was like double Strawberry. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
too sweet I will use less sugar next time. Some recipe's I saw were 7-8 cups of Rhubarb to 3 cups of sugar. I took this one because it had 5*. I will try the other way next time. It is good but it does have that artificial flavor of Jello but it is better then store bought jam and certainly cheap to make considering my Rhubarb is free.I would call it Redneck strawberry jam:) Hopefully nobody is offended all in fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Hmm...not bad but as others stated..I threw in 2 cups of fzn chopped strawberries. Oh heck no...I only used 1.5 C sugar and even that was sorta sweet. So, I had 4 C frozen Rhubarb and 2 C's of frz strawberries. I used 1/2 a pack of 'Royal' brand strawberry jello. Hey...side note. It's a 1.4 oz box and has way less sugar then jello brand. Either way...I'll do this again...but cut way back on the sugar and use 1/2 the jello ingredient. Mine turned out fine with texture and sweet level. Next time, I won't mash the rhubarb up so much, I prefer some little pieces. All in all, an okay recipe with some adjustments :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Good, strong rhubarb taste. I did add a handful of strawberries into the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I also doubled this recipe and cut the sugar down to 5 cups. Tasted amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAZMOMMY
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Wanted a jam that was a bit tangy. So I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and added an extra cup of the rhubarb and a bit extra jell-o. I also prepared it for regular canning, boiled it on high instead of low. Turned out perfect. I ended up with 6 half pint jars. I don't think that it will last very long around our household. This is the best! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I prefer things less sweet so after reading the reviews I cut the sugar down to 2 1/2 cups, increased the rhubarb to 6 cups (cause I had tons of fresh rhubarb on hand). I also threw in some strawberries - about 1/2 c sliced - that I had on hand. This turned out VERY sweet even with the changes and no taste of rhubarb at all. Nice color though. Tasted much like strawberry jelly!! I will keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWQPYED

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kerrobert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I make this all the time.......I cut my rhubarb, and freeze it....and then when I need jam I make it....I do add a little cinnamon to this...I have given as gifts at Christmas....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb from Northfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I make this every year and it is delicious! I double the recipe and it makes 4 1/2 pints of jam. Use 12 c. chopped rhubarb, 5 c. sugar and a 6 oz. package of strawberry jello. Try Wild Strawberry if you can find it. You do not need to let it sit overnight. Just cook the rhubarb and sugar until tender. I like to water bath can it for shelf stability. Put jars in your canner in hot water, bring to simmer and simmer uncovered 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States