Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
My 12 year old daughter made this with rhubarb & strawberries that thawed in the freezer after being left open for the night! She doubled the recipe and it was a success. We had visitors that same evening and some people asked to take some of the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is a 3.5 star recipe but I'm rounding down because my expectations were so high and I was left somewhat disappointed. As per other reviewers I increased the fruits to about 5 cups each, and thank goodness I did because otherwise it would have been way too measly. The crumb topping, which is normally the best part of these desserts, was just mediocre. It was NOT crunchy, as the name would lead you to believe, and it tasted overwhelmingly of flour. In fact the fruit part tasted of flour too. There is just way too much flour in this recipe. I think 1 tbsp would be plenty for the fruit--who cares if it's a little juicy?--and then I'd use a crumb/crisp topping from some other recipe. But don't get me wrong, I still wolfed this down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I read about 20 reviews and decided to follow a sampling of EVERYBODY'S advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I've made this twice, and BOTH times it was GREAT. The first time in a 9x9x2 dish with the called-for proportions, which just made for a deeper crust topping--crunchy on top with a more dense pastry like underside, and the second time in a 9x13 with ever so slightly more fruit (maybe 1/2 C) but the same amount of crumble topping. The only thing I adjusted was cooking time (abt 30 min vs. 45), but this could be the result of a less than accurate older electric oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made this with 4 cups of rhubarb and 4 cups frozen strawberries, that I thawed. Kept the sugar the same since the strawberries were not fresh. Used the bar pan it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
All my guests loved this dish. Changes I would make in the future is add another cup or two of both strawberries and rhubarb. I felt like there was way too much crunch and hardly a layer of the strawberry rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Strawberries and rhubarb are always a great combination... all the fuss in the other reviews had my worried about the topping... it is supposed to be a crunch not a crisp or anything else... it is supposed to have a lot of topping... I cut everything in the topping in half except for the rolled oats... mine turned out good... if you really want you can add cinnamon but I think it was let plain to focus the flavor on the rhubarb and the strawberries.... I would recommend increasing the amount of rhubarb and strawberries to at least 4 cups though and leaving the sugar the same or even cutting it back if your strawberries are really ripe... I am not sure what I would recommend about the topping if you want a crunch I don't recommend cutting back on it but just increase the fruit... the way I made it turned out good with good flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
My family loves strawberry-rhubarb pie, but somehow they tend to always come out a bit too runny. This recipe tastes perfect and comes out better than a pie. I made it for family and they loved it, so when we had a special occasion I made it again and doubled the recipe for family and friends. The result was a smashing success. It was gone before most other desserts. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Howard City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Excellent and simple. Perfect the way it is. Not too much topping. I've owned my own bakery, I am 58 years old. I just decided to add blueberries and walnuts to the mix and a 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract. So quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 610) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States