Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This recipe in itself deserves 4 stars, however, when tweaked a bit, the results are 10 stars! I used 4 cups of strawberries (roughly a pound and a half) and 4 cups of rhubarb (5 long stalks), 5 Tbsp flour and 3/4 cup of sugar. I probably could have used even less sugar. Bottom line is, if your strawberries are fresh and ripe, you really don't need that much sugar. I will likely try 1/2 cup next time. Then I poured the fruit mixture into a 10 x 15 1/2 bar pan. I did not adjust the topping-- I made as the recipe called for and there was more than enough to cover the top. I baked for the same amount of time and at the same temp and it came out perfect! (just be sure to put aluminum foil down in your oven because the juices run over the side of the bar pan!) This recipe will easily serve 12 and is absolutely the perfect combination of sweetness, tartness and crunchiness. Great summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
712 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRindell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
This is an excellent recipe - easy, fast and very good. I used a larger (10 X 14) dish and increased the fruit to about 5 cups for each. I could have used even more. I used slightly less than 1 c. white sugar and 4-5 tbs of flour for the fruit. I also added the zest of one juicing orange, a teaspoon of cinnamon and a few grates of nutmeg - all of which made a big impact on the taste. For the topping, I made the amount noted in the recipe, but did not use it all - and that was on a significantly bigger batch. Just use what looks right. I did not change the baking time. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
Proportions are odd. Much too much flour & butter in the topping and not enough fruit in the filling. Topping is a bit bland so I added spices & nuts. Also, three tablespoons of flour in the filling yields a consistency that was gluey even with twice as many strawberries as called for. I haven't tried with the one tablespoon I'm suggesting yet but I'm guessing based upon other recipes that this will work better. Here is what I came up with: Filling: 3 cups rhubarb 2-3 cups strawberries 1 cup white sugar 1 tablespoon flour Topping: 3/4 cup packed brown sugar 3/4 cup flour 6 tablespoons butter 1 cup rolled oats 1/8 tsp. cinnamon dash each nutmeg & ground clove handful of favorite nut is optional (I like pecans myself)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I'm rating this 5-stars even though there's twice as much topping as you need! I can't imagine using all that is called for. I think I probably only used half of it! I asked Hubs to taste and review this. "Is it too sweet?" I asked him. "No," he replied, "It's too good." I can always tell with him when something I make sets itself apart from others. This recipe is one of those times. It's quite sweet, that's for sure, but then we didn't have it with whipped cream or ice cream. (That's because we ate spoonfuls of it right out of the baking dish while it was still warm) I'm sure it would be even better with the ice cream or whipped cream. The buttery, crunchy oat topping is just perfect - except that there's far too much of it! Delicious dessert, just reduce the amount of topping or do what I did and use the extra to top muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2002
DELICIOUS!!!!! At 18 years old, I'm a pretty young baker...but I KNOW that this is the best of the best =)! This was SOOOOOO WONDERFUL!!!! My dad has been a strawberry-rhubarb lover his whole life, and in his childhood his mother would make strawberry-rhubarb desserts for him. He told me that this was the BEST ONE HE HAS EVER HAD!! I did change the recipe a little... I added 4 cups rhubarb, 3 cups strawberry...then in the topping I decreased the flour and brown sugar to 3/4 cup and the butter to 7 TBL. I also added about 1/2 tea cinnamon. YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
This was really good. I used splenda instead of white sugar and sugartwin's brown sugar instead of regular brown sugar to limit the carbs. No way anyone could tell and it probably took the carbs from 37 to 10 per serving. I will make this again, it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Made this last nite & ate waaay tooo much of it!! No problems with halving the topping & using an 8x8 pan. Totally awesome! To make things easier, use your kitchen shears to dice/chop the rhubarb after slicing the stalks lengthwise. One large stalk yields about 1 cup. Also, 1 pound of strawberries will be just over the 3 cups needed for the recipe. Looking forward to trying it out with some apples next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHASION

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I thought this was delicious and apparently so did the 14 guests we had this evening; all but one little smidge is left. :-) I used thawed rhubarb from my garden from last season; so even though there were 4 cups, it didn't look like 4 as the fruit thawed, so I added 2-3 extra cups of thawed rhubarb. Used 1 pound of strawberries which equalled 3 cups. I reduced the sugar to 3/4c and added a sprinkling of sliced almonds to the topping; did everything else as written. This was so delicious; with the sweetness of the strawberries, it was the perfect balance of sweet and tart for us! Served warm with Vanilla Ice Cream V (from this website). Thank you for the great recipe, Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Very yummy! Don't cheat yourself by cutting the topping - double the fruit instead. YUM! I also added 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
If you like the rhubarb-strawberry combination, this is a keeper. This is a very easy, very delicious recipe. I used 3 cups of strawberries and 3 cups of rhubarb and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Had to make it twice in the first week--it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 646) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States