Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Excellent served warm with ice cream. Very easy to make too !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
What a wonderful dish. I made it exactly to the recipe and thought it was well balanced for our taste! We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Awesome recipe! I have my own topping recipe (very similar to this one) that I use, so I mainly tried this recipe for the filling... LOVED IT! I used the 1 cup of sugar and it left the filling with a perfectly balanced sweet & tart taste. The only thing I might do differently next time is add a touch more flour because it seemed a little runny, but that certainly didn't affect the taste! It could be because I used frozen rhubarb instead of fresh... either way, this recipe is a keeper, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
VERY good. I brought this to a cookout and it got devoured! I made it exactly as the recipe states and it was great, but I agree with the other reviewers that it would be better with 4 or 5 cups of strawberry and rhubarb. Also will use just 3/4 cup of sugar, it was a bit too sweet. I will add a bit of cinnamon and vanilla to the fruit mixture as other reviewers did. Could also easily cut back on the flour and the butter. Took FOREVER to cut all the rhubarb and strawberries, but it was totally worth it! This is good served cold, but much better warm with a little ice cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Out of this world perfect! Proportions were just right with a nice balance of sour to sweet! On the tart side with a hint of sweet. I added 3/4t. cinnamon and nutmeg...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
My 12 year old daughter made this with rhubarb & strawberries that thawed in the freezer after being left open for the night! She doubled the recipe and it was a success. We had visitors that same evening and some people asked to take some of the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is a 3.5 star recipe but I'm rounding down because my expectations were so high and I was left somewhat disappointed. As per other reviewers I increased the fruits to about 5 cups each, and thank goodness I did because otherwise it would have been way too measly. The crumb topping, which is normally the best part of these desserts, was just mediocre. It was NOT crunchy, as the name would lead you to believe, and it tasted overwhelmingly of flour. In fact the fruit part tasted of flour too. There is just way too much flour in this recipe. I think 1 tbsp would be plenty for the fruit--who cares if it's a little juicy?--and then I'd use a crumb/crisp topping from some other recipe. But don't get me wrong, I still wolfed this down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I read about 20 reviews and decided to follow a sampling of EVERYBODY'S advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I've made this twice, and BOTH times it was GREAT. The first time in a 9x9x2 dish with the called-for proportions, which just made for a deeper crust topping--crunchy on top with a more dense pastry like underside, and the second time in a 9x13 with ever so slightly more fruit (maybe 1/2 C) but the same amount of crumble topping. The only thing I adjusted was cooking time (abt 30 min vs. 45), but this could be the result of a less than accurate older electric oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 646) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States