Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I had some strawberries and rhubarb in the freezer that needed to be used up. I decided that today was the day I was going to find a recipe so I could finally get these out of my freezer. I didn't have any brown sugar on hand so I subbed that out for white. My house had the most heavenly smell when this was baking in the oven. Once baked, it presented well. It looked nice enough that I would not hesitate to make this for a pot luck or some such event. I served it with vanilla bean ice cream and let me tell you, it was perfect. My partner described it as being "delightful" and said he could eat a large quantity of it. It's always a good sign when he says that as he's quite a picky eater. I was very happy with the outcome of this dessert and will most definitely make it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
For me, this recipe was just so-so. I felt that the proportion of fruit vs: topping just wasn't right... there was FAR too much topping. I much prefer the recipe for Rhubarb-Raspberry Crunch submitted by VSCOLE. I have used it many times, substituting the raspberries for strawberries, apples and peaches and the overall result is far superior in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Delicious, had only one stalk of rhubarb, which was a half cup, and no strawberries, so i substituted the missing fruit with raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Love it, but too much topping. Also will use more strawberry and rhubarb next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Loved the recipe. Tweeked it by adding 2 cups of blueberries, 1 cup of strawberries, with the 3 cups of rhubarb. Great with ice cream. I will make it again to serve at the next family gathering. Two thumbs up. - Helene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
We loved this! I had enough rhubarb, but only had 2 1/2 cups strawberries so I added 1/2 cup fresh bluberries. I think it made this dessert even more interesting in taste and appearance. Although 1 cup of butter is A LOT, I used it and, of course, that made it even more special. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Half of the topping recipe was plenty as this fit in a 10x7 pan. Had made previously with full amount and felt like we were eating more topping than fruit. As well, since my daughter is GF the GF flour can get too gritty in large amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Wow it was so easy to make and it was awesome to eat. I'll be making it again soon since he strawberries are in season now:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Super easy & super yummy. I followed the advice of some of the other reviews; I reduced the white sugar to 3/4 cup and doubled the fruit (rather than reduce the crumble)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is a great recipe. Simple, straight-forward and comes out awesome every single time. It's no fail! Feel free to experiment with different summer fruits...rhubarb, strawberry of course...but blackberries, blueberries, raspberries can also be added along with, to make up the 6+ cups of fruit. I didn't have quite enough rhubarb in my garden to make up 3 cups, so I improvised with other berries and the results were fantastic. Simply the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 647) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States