Rhubarb Strawberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I was confused by the pan size. The recipe calls for 9" round (12 servings??), but the picture looks like an 8x11 or 9x13. I used a 9x13, doubled the crumb recipe and cornstarch mixture. I did not increase the fruit amounts or the baking time. My pan was full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
The only problem I have with this recipe is that it is called "cake." When you make it, you will discover that it is delicious, but it is more like a cobbler (but not as sweet) than like a cake. I followed this recipe exactly the first time. The second time I meant to follow it exactly because it was wonderful, but accidentally put in a whole cup of oatmeal rather than 3/4. It still turned out to be great. You will receive lots of compliments if you bake this dish. :) I used a 9" x 13" square dish rather than a round one. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, Roxanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This was excellent. Used frozen rhubarb from last year. I did increase the cornstarch to 3T. Also this is more of a crisp than cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I made this at a birthday party. I did cut the sugar in half and everyone loved it. It is mor of a crumble cake (streusel) than a plain cake but it tastes awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This was excellent. Would only have been better had I had ice cream to serve with it. It is not a cake but a cobbler but I knew that from the reviews and from reading the recipe. "That is as good as anything you will ever buy" - quote from my husband. It was runny when I served it but it was still hot from the oven and firmed slightly when it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This cake was absolutely wonderful! I didn't change a thing. The Rhubarb/Strawberry mixture was so delish. My family got to try a piece and then I brought the rest to work..RAVE reviews..I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make and turned out delicous. I baked it in a 9 inch square stoneware pan, omitted the nutmeg, and served warm with vanilla frozen yogurt. Will be making this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
The name of this dessert is misleading...it is more of a crumble rather than a true cake. The bottom layer became very hard and stuck to the pan, and the nutmeg flavor was too strong. Better to use the fruit in a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Amazing! This is my first time having rhubarb. I got a whole bunch in my CSA and had no idea what to do with it besides making strawberry rhubarb pie and I'm not a big fan of pie. This crisp is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Very yummy!! I also baked the bottom crust for about 10 minutes as suggested by other reviewers. I also reduced the sugar in the glaze by about a quarter cup, and instead of pouring it over the fruit while the fruit was on the crust I mixed it with the fruit then spooned in into the bottom crust- I think it coated the fruit more evenly. I took this to a cookout, and it was gone, many people had seconds. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISON967

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States