Rhubarb Strawberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This was excellent. Would only have been better had I had ice cream to serve with it. It is not a cake but a cobbler but I knew that from the reviews and from reading the recipe. "That is as good as anything you will ever buy" - quote from my husband. It was runny when I served it but it was still hot from the oven and firmed slightly when it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make and turned out delicous. I baked it in a 9 inch square stoneware pan, omitted the nutmeg, and served warm with vanilla frozen yogurt. Will be making this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This was very easy to make and everyone who tries it will love it - even people who don't like rhubarb. You have to serve it with vanilla ice cream! It's much more like a cobbler than a cake - a super summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawne B
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This recipe was SO good and SO easy -- even my often-skeptical husband and daughter were impressed! I made it exactly as listed and we had it with vanilla ice cream -- yum! This one is definitely a winner. In fact, I'm trying it with mulberries tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
It is rhubarb season here, so I love new options for it. This was great, though I agree, not really a cake, more of a crisp. The kids loved it, and so did the adults, we topped it with half and half...sinfully good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
What a refreshing treat! We picked the rhubarb from the back yard and ate this fresh. It's definitely more of a crumble than a cake, but great nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Stock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I made this at a birthday party. I did cut the sugar in half and everyone loved it. It is mor of a crumble cake (streusel) than a plain cake but it tastes awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
The name of this dessert is misleading...it is more of a crumble rather than a true cake. The bottom layer became very hard and stuck to the pan, and the nutmeg flavor was too strong. Better to use the fruit in a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This was excellent!!!!! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States