Rhubarb Strawberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Amazing! This is my first time having rhubarb. I got a whole bunch in my CSA and had no idea what to do with it besides making strawberry rhubarb pie and I'm not a big fan of pie. This crisp is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This cake was absolutely wonderful! I didn't change a thing. The Rhubarb/Strawberry mixture was so delish. My family got to try a piece and then I brought the rest to work..RAVE reviews..I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Very yummy!! I also baked the bottom crust for about 10 minutes as suggested by other reviewers. I also reduced the sugar in the glaze by about a quarter cup, and instead of pouring it over the fruit while the fruit was on the crust I mixed it with the fruit then spooned in into the bottom crust- I think it coated the fruit more evenly. I took this to a cookout, and it was gone, many people had seconds. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISON967

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
The only problem I have with this recipe is that it is called "cake." When you make it, you will discover that it is delicious, but it is more like a cobbler (but not as sweet) than like a cake. I followed this recipe exactly the first time. The second time I meant to follow it exactly because it was wonderful, but accidentally put in a whole cup of oatmeal rather than 3/4. It still turned out to be great. You will receive lots of compliments if you bake this dish. :) I used a 9" x 13" square dish rather than a round one. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, Roxanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I loved this! I just wish my kids did. Anything with rhubarb and strawberry is great, so this one did not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I was confused by the pan size. The recipe calls for 9" round (12 servings??), but the picture looks like an 8x11 or 9x13. I used a 9x13, doubled the crumb recipe and cornstarch mixture. I did not increase the fruit amounts or the baking time. My pan was full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I substituted fresh pineapple for the rhubarb and this was delicious! Quite tart and sweet, but great with vanilla ice cream. The only problem with the recipe is that I ran out of the crumble mix which I used very humbly, will double that if I use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This was very good and I do not even like rhubarb even my children enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gnadenhutten, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This Crisp is amazing with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This was excellent. Would only have been better had I had ice cream to serve with it. It is not a cake but a cobbler but I knew that from the reviews and from reading the recipe. "That is as good as anything you will ever buy" - quote from my husband. It was runny when I served it but it was still hot from the oven and firmed slightly when it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States