Rhubarb Stir Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Tastes great. I don't care for nutmeg...so the only thing I changed was replacing nutmeg for cinnamon. Will make this again for sure. I think I'll make a glaze with a little more cinnamon added to it...just for a little more sweetness. Only because I have a sweet tooth. To me, it has the consistency of bread pudding...which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShellyRLA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very tasty and moist. Good balance between sweet and tart. The sugar topping adds a nice crunch. I, too, used 5 cups of rhubarb. FYI, the batter is like cookie dough because the moisture from the rhubarb as it cooks creates the liquid you would normally add in cake batter. Made it last night and took some to work, two people asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShellyRLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Wasn't sure how sour cream added to anything rhubarb would taste, nevertheless, this cake is superb. The combination of brown sugar, sour cream and butter with the fresh rhubarb makes for a wonderfully delicious flavor that goes well with coffee &/or tea. The nutmeg mixed into the sugar topping, in my opinion, adds a unique flavor. For those whom don't care for the pungent flavor of nutmeg, substituting cinnamon would work just fine. The next time I make this delicious cake, will plan to cut down on the added brown sugar by just a bit (approximately 1/4 cup) as a matter of personal preference. Would give this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
By far, the best rhubarb recipe I have tried in a long time. My family loved it. I made the recipe exactly as stated with the exception of using cinnamon instead of nutmeg in the topping - just a personal preference. The batter will be thick as other reviewers mentioned, but the result is a moist, delicious cake. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is good and easy to make. Next time, I will up the amount of rhubarb and add some lemon zest. It does taste better the next day - almost like a bread pudding - more dense. Topping with whip cream is optional. Also, did not use as much sugar topping - used about 1/2. Shared this at a Father's Day BBQ and it was very well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was a good one mostly because it was sooo easy and you didn't need to get out your beaters. :) I would definitely use about 1/3 cup of white sugar in the batter too - mine was just a tad too tart for my taste, but still good. Extremely moist. Extremely easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
great cake! very easy and very moist. will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Delicious!! I used 4-3/4 cups rhubarb and used half nutmeg and half cinnamon for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is a great recipe. Easy, moist, delicious. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Such a great, moist cake! And, something else to do with all the rhubarb in the spring. I used vanilla greek yogurt instead of sour cream, and only added 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I also added about 3 tsp. cinnamon to the topping. It was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States