Rhubarb Stir Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2000
Wonderfully moist, uses lots of rhubarb, and not overly sweet. I make it several times a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
This was wonderful! I was even a little short on the rhubarb, but it didn't seem to matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Just like mom used to make! My favorite growing up and now my son likes it, too. Even easier to make than mom's because it uses sour cream instead of buttermilk-easy ingredients already on-hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
This cake was very good. My daughter loved it with whipped creme. To me the nutmeg was a bit strong, so next time I would substitute cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2000
I served this cake today for our weekly afternoon tea and we were amazed by how delicious it was. The only comment I have to make about preparation is four stalks of rhubarb equals four cups of chopped and I had not expected the batter to be so stiff and at first thought maybe it would not rise. By the time I got all the ingredients in the bowl except for the sour cream it was real stiff. But it all turned out very good. . the rhubarb gave this cake a tartness which was delicious with the sweetness of the brown sugar in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
I ran out of flour and had to use 1/3 a cup of bisquick, i also didn't have quite enough sour cream. Miraculously it still came out delicious! Definite repeat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
I love the tartness of rhubarb and this recipe was perfect!! The sweetness of the cake complements the tartness of the rhubarb. My family enjoyed this recipe - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
The cake came out great. The sugar on top gave it a sweet crunchy crust. The cake is very moist and not overly sweet. I'm sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
This cake was very good. I added a little cinnamon to the flour mixture and substituted cinnamon for the nutmeg in the topping mixture. My grown daughter came in while the cake was still warm from the oven and ate almost a 1/4 of it and then took more home. I had planned on serving it with whipped cream or ice cream, but we liked it just the way it was. We love the crunchy/crispy topping. My only problem was that I had to bake it for about another 20 minutes or so (my oven's gone wacky lately). I laid a piece of foil over it during that time so the top wouldn't get too brown, therefore moistening up the top a little, so then I put it under the broiler for a few minutes and it crisped back up again. A keeper, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States