Rhubarb Stir Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
scrumptious! moist! easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Like it ,like it,like it ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALIGHTCOMINGON
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I love rhubarb and thought this recipe was great. It was really moist and the brown sugar added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIGHTCOMINGON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
My church had a coffee house function and asked me to make 5 desserts and this was one of them. I got so many compliments on my baking. This dessert was very popular at the function. I added one cup of raspberries as well. One friend had 5 Servings! I served it w/ cool whip and made sure I baked it a day before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lpcookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This was yummy. The only thing I did different was to use 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 yogurt (that is what I had). I also mixed the sugar with cinnamon and nutmeg and about 2 T. of butter then sprinkled it over the top. I also waited a day to eat it. It was moist and very, very good served with real whip cream. This made the favorite box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Grrrr-EAT stuff! Following the advice of others, I made the following modifications: Used five cups of rhubarb instead of four; cut the nutmeg in half and added a quarter teaspoon of cinnamon to the topping. For those of you who are wondering about using frozen rhubarb, I did -- but I thawed it first. I drained off all but about a quarter cup of the liquid that was created as it thawed. This helped with the stiffness of the dough in the final stage and didn't seem to affect the finished product at all. From what others are saying, my batter was probably a lot easier to spread in the pan. As for results: I took the cake to my parents' house on a visit and everyone there really liked it -- even my dad, who isn't the easiest guy to please! I will definitely make this again; the recipe is going into my file. Thanks, Deb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This cake is so good! The only thing I had to change was I baked it an extra 20 mins. Half of the cake disappeared before it even cooled off. The rhubarb I used was a bit tart but didn't subtract anything from the taste. Thanks for a great recipe! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I made this today as a treat for my children, but judging by their dad's reaction they'll be lucky if they get any! We most definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swindon, Wiltshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Par, Cornwall, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. When it came out of the oven, it looked like it actually needed to go back in for another 10 minutes, but I resisted. I'm glad I did because the next morning the texture was perfect and still moist, but not as doughy. With the vanilla added it reminded me of a fruity bread pudding. This one's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
WOW this is so good! I've made this last summer and the summer before, and I'm waiting (impatiently) for the weather to warm up to the point where the rhubarb is growing again. this is undoubtedly one of my favourite dessert recipes ever. Normally I make it as writen with 2 substitutions... oil instead of butter (no pesky trans fats!) and non-fat yogurt instead of sour cream. I have on ocasion used other fruits... it works well with blueberries, raspberries or strawberries, and I am thinking of trying is with Bananas or grated carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States