Rhubarb Stir Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Dawn-Faith
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This cake is so amazing, and everyone who I have shared the recipe with LOVED it. A real keeper I will be making every spring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn-Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Great cake. I used about 3 cups of rhubarb as that is what I had. I also added some butter to the topping as suggested in earlier reviews. This cake is as good as the reviews say. I brought it to work this morning and everyone loved it. I also used cinnamon rather than nutmeg and added about 1/2 tsp to the batter as well. I will definitely make this again. I want more now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
DELICIOUS! I used frozen rhubarb, thawed, but didn't drain it. It made the cake supremely moist (which is what I was aiming for)! I added 1 tsp. cinnamon to the batter and also sprinkled about 1/2 tsp cinnamon on top along with the nutmeg and sugar. The ladies in my MOPS group loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This, by far, is the best coffee cake in my recipe collection. I was raised on ranch/farm cooking, and rhubarb had a place of honor in our baking recipes. I add 1 cup of toasted, chopped pecans for crunch. Thanks for sharing this treasure of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was Fantastic. I took it to work and the pan was wiped clean. I did make one subsitution. I didn't have any sour cream on hand so I used 1 cup plain low fat yogurt. It came out great! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was pretty yummy, although I think I'll keep looking for a better rhubarb cake / bread recipe. A bit too sweet for my liking (even though I reduced the sugar to 2/3 of the original !) Great texture; I used slightly less rhubarb (it was all that I had), and baked muffins instead of a cake, which worked really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I made this receipe for our friends and family up at Camp one weekend. Had rave reviews, everyone loved it. Good receipe. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Pretty good cake, but replace rhubarb pie as my favorite rhubarb recipe? No way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Splashme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Beyond excellent! Only thing different was I omitted sugar and nutmeg to the top. In place I put the nutmeg inside. For a topping I made a mix of butter confectionary sugar, a tad lemon juice and 2 Tbsp. strawberry jam. I spread it on the warm cake (not hot) It just a bit more than a glaze and was a wonderful compliment to the rhubarb. Next time I will add a crumble top and use for a coffee cake. It was gobbled up in no time at all. Two from are coffe group that don't eat rhubarb loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States