Rhubarb Stir Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I halved the recipe and baked in an 8x8 square pan for 30 minutes. Since you can't use half an egg, I added a little extra flour, to compensate. Used 1 cup white flour and 1/4 cup wheat flour. (Batter is VERY thick.) Sprinkled cinnamon and a little raw sugar as the topping (the larger crystals are VERY nice on top!). Tastes great, but cake doesn't keep well, so don't expect to save it more than a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Followed directions as is and it turned out pretty good. I will probably take the advice of other reviewers of adding more rhubarb and cutting or omitting the nutmeg. With that switch it would be 5 stars with cinnamon instead. Great recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Carroll, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
this was super moist, very sweet and got rave reviews from guests and husband. thanks for sharing a great recipe - I used 3 c. rhubarb (that's what I had on hand) and all was well. This is a great recipe, too, because most have all ingredients on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grandma Cindy
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I have made this recipe 3 times, substituting cinnamon for the nutmeg. Also, in mixing the batter, I alternately added the flour mixture with the sour cream, so it didn't get too stiff. I shared the cake and the recipe with the ladies in my quilting class. One friend took a copy of the recipe and served it to her husband, who now has changed his favorite dessert from lemon bars to Rhubarb Stir Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Excellent. It was good the first day. I will definitely make this again. I cut the rhubarb very small so that my husband (who does not like rhubarb) would not be biting into big chunks and ,yeah, he liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Easy and delicious with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I'm not the biggest Rhubarb lover, but the house we moved into came complete with a lot of Rhubarb plants growing along the back fence. Over the last week I've been picking it and giving it away. Someone made a pie, someone stewed it, etc... I was bored last weekend and decided to do a search for something to make with some Rhubarb and this little RHUBARB STIR CAKE recipe appeared. I had everything except the sour cream, so we ran out and picked some up and I went to work making the cake. Well, let me tell you, as we sat out on the front porch with a piece each, my husband kept making what I would call "YUMMY NOISES" and told me this was the BEST cake I had ever made. He rated it a 10/10 and proceeded to grab another large piece. I grabbed the cake and cut a small piece for my mom and we took it over to her the next day. She devoured it and stated she gave it a 11/10. My brother isn't a big rhubarb fan, but after hearing my husband and mom rave about this cake, he is going to try a piece next time I bake one. I went out to the garden and ended up bagging 4 more bags (4 cups each) of Rhubarb so I can bake this cake in the winter. (SMILE) This is an awesome wonderful cake!!! Sooooooo easy to make too!! LOVE IT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary_MCP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vineland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
As others mentioned a great way to use up Rhubarb and very TASTY as well. As others suggested, I used the cinnamon in place of the nutmeg. I also added a cup of chopped nuts to the recipe. Since it is so moist it is best if kept in the refrigerator after the first day. Since there are only two of us, we don't eat it up fast enough to leave out on the counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This cake was very good. I only had about 2-2 1/2 cups of rubarb on hand so I added about a cup of chopped strawberries. I was afraid it wouldn't be moist enough. It turned out plenty moist but I think I still would like it better with the full amount of rubarb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
We all loved this recipe. I had run out of nutmeg so I used cinnamon and then after I'd finished baking it I read all of the reviews that said to use it instead :) a happy accident. In my oven this needed a bit longer than the 40 minutes. Apart from that my only difference was to leave out the salt, but that's just me! Thank you for a great recipe that will be used again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States