Rhubarb Stir Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This cake was very good. The nutmeg was a nice change from the usual cinnamon topping. I do think it tastes best with some whipped cream or ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This is a nice cake; great sweet and tart notes, although I feel like having a dollop of whipped cream with it is absolutely necessary. A few notes: I used frozen rhubarb and although I drained it, there was still extra liquid in the batter. It was not nearly as thick as others have said and consequently, despite halving the recipe, it required MORE than the 40 minutes cook time. It allowed the sugar on top to make a really nice crust, however. Also, don't be afraid of nutmeg! Cinnamon has become such a catch-all spice and the nutmeg gives some nice, subtle notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I halved the recipe and baked in an 8x8 square pan for 30 minutes. Since you can't use half an egg, I added a little extra flour, to compensate. Used 1 cup white flour and 1/4 cup wheat flour. (Batter is VERY thick.) Sprinkled cinnamon and a little raw sugar as the topping (the larger crystals are VERY nice on top!). Tastes great, but cake doesn't keep well, so don't expect to save it more than a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Followed directions as is and it turned out pretty good. I will probably take the advice of other reviewers of adding more rhubarb and cutting or omitting the nutmeg. With that switch it would be 5 stars with cinnamon instead. Great recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Carroll, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
this was super moist, very sweet and got rave reviews from guests and husband. thanks for sharing a great recipe - I used 3 c. rhubarb (that's what I had on hand) and all was well. This is a great recipe, too, because most have all ingredients on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grandma Cindy
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I have made this recipe 3 times, substituting cinnamon for the nutmeg. Also, in mixing the batter, I alternately added the flour mixture with the sour cream, so it didn't get too stiff. I shared the cake and the recipe with the ladies in my quilting class. One friend took a copy of the recipe and served it to her husband, who now has changed his favorite dessert from lemon bars to Rhubarb Stir Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Excellent. It was good the first day. I will definitely make this again. I cut the rhubarb very small so that my husband (who does not like rhubarb) would not be biting into big chunks and ,yeah, he liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Easy and delicious with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I'm not the biggest Rhubarb lover, but the house we moved into came complete with a lot of Rhubarb plants growing along the back fence. Over the last week I've been picking it and giving it away. Someone made a pie, someone stewed it, etc... I was bored last weekend and decided to do a search for something to make with some Rhubarb and this little RHUBARB STIR CAKE recipe appeared. I had everything except the sour cream, so we ran out and picked some up and I went to work making the cake. Well, let me tell you, as we sat out on the front porch with a piece each, my husband kept making what I would call "YUMMY NOISES" and told me this was the BEST cake I had ever made. He rated it a 10/10 and proceeded to grab another large piece. I grabbed the cake and cut a small piece for my mom and we took it over to her the next day. She devoured it and stated she gave it a 11/10. My brother isn't a big rhubarb fan, but after hearing my husband and mom rave about this cake, he is going to try a piece next time I bake one. I went out to the garden and ended up bagging 4 more bags (4 cups each) of Rhubarb so I can bake this cake in the winter. (SMILE) This is an awesome wonderful cake!!! Sooooooo easy to make too!! LOVE IT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary_MCP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vineland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
As others mentioned a great way to use up Rhubarb and very TASTY as well. As others suggested, I used the cinnamon in place of the nutmeg. I also added a cup of chopped nuts to the recipe. Since it is so moist it is best if kept in the refrigerator after the first day. Since there are only two of us, we don't eat it up fast enough to leave out on the counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States