Rhubarb Sour Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I made this with 2 cups rhubarb and 2 cups strawberries, then poured the sour cream mixture over it. I also added some oats to the crumble topping for more texture. It was delicious!! All of the guests said it was the best rhubarb pie they had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kathleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This is heaven . You can serve this to anyone & I'm sure they will be asking for the recipe. You do want to make sure that you cook it in a DEEP dish pie plate. Besides being delicious it is very quick & so easy to put together. It does take an hour to bake but that gives you time to get the rest of your meal together."Enjoy "
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is an excellent pie. I've gotten nothing but rave reviews after baking it. I only made minor changes - I see that most the reviews cut back on the sugar which I definitely understand - if you are a rhubarb liker/lover. I myself am not a rhubarb liker/lover! I find it too tart. So - I diced the rhubarb (only need about 3.5 cups) and used 1/8 cup of the sugar called for to toss with the rhubarb 30 minutes before cooking. I add more ingredients for the crumble topping as peole tell me it's to die for - this gives it a thicker top crust that people are crazy about. I usually have plenty of filling left over so I usually cut up some strawberries and make turnovers with the filling - people enjoy that as well. One quick word of caution - be careful you don't overfill!! I did it the first FOUR times I made this pie.. I couldn't help it - it was so good! Now I have more restraint, but those first 4 times the outer crust fell off and filling bubbled over the edge on to the baking sheet making it difficult to clean. Good luck and trust me - people will LOVE this pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MmmFoodisGood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Wonderful use for rhubarb. I'd echo what others said and do not overfill crust. Will try cutting sugar next attempt and adding a pinch of cinnamon. I also added some lemon zest to the sour cream fillling. Kicks it up just a notch, which this recipe hardly needs. Easy, yummy, crowd-pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Fernando, California, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
The recipe made a yummy pie. I didn't have the required amount f rhubarb so I substituted with half fresh sliced strawberries. The result was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT! I think different varietes of rhubarb have different tartness so maybe that's why some foodies prefer less sugar. But I don't think it's fair to change the recipe and then give it a poor review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Perfect! Follow directions and a hit every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I made this for a "pie-baking contest" at work and won first prize! I did add fresh strawberries to the whole mixture just because I love a rhubarb/straberry combination of any kind. Will devinitely make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
this was ok, not sure to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States