Rhubarb Sour Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This is the best rubarb pie recipe I have ever made. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Wonderful, wonderful!!!! The topping is great, my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This was good. I screwed up on the crust, but that certainly isn't the fault of this recipe. The sour cream custard was very nice and balanced the tartness of the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Unbelievable!!!! Tastes so amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I'm personally not a rhubarb fan but this is my boyfriend's favorite dessert so I hunted out a recipe that I might like too. This one has just the right amount of creaminess to mask the rhubarb texture...delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Fantastic pie! I used a quiche pan and added more rhubarb and a bit more flour. Using one egg is perfect as it is more creamy and less like a custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I made this with 2 cups rhubarb and 2 cups strawberries, then poured the sour cream mixture over it. I also added some oats to the crumble topping for more texture. It was delicious!! All of the guests said it was the best rhubarb pie they had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This is heaven . You can serve this to anyone & I'm sure they will be asking for the recipe. You do want to make sure that you cook it in a DEEP dish pie plate. Besides being delicious it is very quick & so easy to put together. It does take an hour to bake but that gives you time to get the rest of your meal together."Enjoy "
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is an excellent pie. I've gotten nothing but rave reviews after baking it. I only made minor changes - I see that most the reviews cut back on the sugar which I definitely understand - if you are a rhubarb liker/lover. I myself am not a rhubarb liker/lover! I find it too tart. So - I diced the rhubarb (only need about 3.5 cups) and used 1/8 cup of the sugar called for to toss with the rhubarb 30 minutes before cooking. I add more ingredients for the crumble topping as peole tell me it's to die for - this gives it a thicker top crust that people are crazy about. I usually have plenty of filling left over so I usually cut up some strawberries and make turnovers with the filling - people enjoy that as well. One quick word of caution - be careful you don't overfill!! I did it the first FOUR times I made this pie.. I couldn't help it - it was so good! Now I have more restraint, but those first 4 times the outer crust fell off and filling bubbled over the edge on to the baking sheet making it difficult to clean. Good luck and trust me - people will LOVE this pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MmmFoodisGood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Wonderful use for rhubarb. I'd echo what others said and do not overfill crust. Will try cutting sugar next attempt and adding a pinch of cinnamon. I also added some lemon zest to the sour cream fillling. Kicks it up just a notch, which this recipe hardly needs. Easy, yummy, crowd-pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Fernando, California, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States