Rhubarb Sour Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
An all-time favorite at my house. I follow the recipe and it turns out perfect every time (which is about 5 times this summer). I do bake it about 10-15 minutes longer at 350 degrees. I'm so glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Based on the other reviews, I reduced the sugar to 1 cup and liked the results, perfect amount of sweetness tartness in my opinion. I've tried lots of rhubarb pie recipes and this one really stood out. My whole family raved about this pie. From now on this is the only rhubarb pie recipe I make. Next time I will try adding a little bit of lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle Pines, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Taste was nice, especially the sugar topping at the end. Only thing holding it back from 5 stars is the appearance. It looked a bit like curdled milk. I used low fat sour cream ~perhaps that was the problem. Will make again for sure. **Made it again and baked for about 10 minutes longer. No more curdled appearance. Now its a 5 star. My favourite rhubarb pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I have made this recipe oodles of times and it gets RAVE reviews. It is RESTAURANT quality. You can, with confidence, use Pillsbury Refrigerated Pie Crust (I do not recommend using any other prepared crust, from my own experience) and you will be ALWAYS asked for your special crust recipe! Follow this recipe exactly for RAVE reviews from your eating audience. 5 STARS, HOORAY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This is a great recipe! The pie is really delicious! We were a little short on ingredients, so we used a half cup of fat-free sour cream and a half cup of fat-free vanilla yogurt in place of the one cup sour cream. We used only half the sugar because the yogurt was a little sweet on its own. Because we like really full pies, we also added some strawberries in addition to the rhubarb. We made a second pie without the crumb topping and it was awesome too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
My husband and I thought this was sooooo good! I love the crispiness on top, and it was super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This was awesome. I made two pies. Followed the directions exactly. They did turn out a little soupy but that could be due to the water content in the rhubarb. We picked it and used it in the same day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Excellent recipe! Followed advice of other users and used 1 cup of sugar instead of 1.5, and also used light sour cream - still delicious! Will be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
AMAZING! I actually substituted the regular sour cream with tofutti and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This is an awesome pie recipe. I used it for rhubarb alone and then with rhubarb & peaches, then rhubarb & strawberries. Easy to make and produces a pretty pie. I used a little more flour for crumble topping and a little less sugar for fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States