Rhubarb Sour Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This is by far my favorite pie!. I used slightly less than 4 cups rhubarb but otherwise followed the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clarence, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
All I can say is yummy, yummy, yummy! Awesome pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This is great. Different than your standard Rhubarb Pie. This will be the only way that I make Rhubarb Pie now. So easy to make this. Update: 7/8/09- Went to make this a few weeks ago and discovered that I didn't quite have 1 cup of sour cream so I used 1/2 cup vanilla flavored yogurt and came out great. For the topping, I only use 2T butter and use 1/2 flour + 1/2 oats. There is no tweaking necessary but I feel better about eating a huge piece knowing that I made it a little less fattening...And yes, this is still the only way that I make anything with rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I made this with a batch of fresh rhubarb and followed everything as written, no substitutions. It was too sweet, in my opinion. And as some reviewers noted, the filling ended up quite messy - I couldn't cut the pieces neatly at all. The crust baked well, even on the bottom, but I would have liked a firmer consistency to the custard. I think the butter/sugar topping was unnecessary and would leave it out next time. Or would season it with cinnamon/nutmeg for added flavor, as one person suggested. Overall it was OK but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Hampton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I made this wonderfully easy pie this weekend for company and it was a hit! Had some left, and offered my daughter a bite to try it. She called tonight for the recipe Company's coming! Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Listle
Home Town: White Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Outstanding! Mine came out a bit on the soupy side but the taste is so good it wins a 5 anyhow. Will add one teaspoon of cornstarch next time to the custard to thicken, but very nice meld of flavours and good ratio of sugar to rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This was so easy to prepare. Delicious. Everyone I served it to loved it. Thank you! I will definitely make this again and will share the recipe with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This recipe is excellent. I may reduce the sugar next time, and only had 3/4 cup sour cream, so supplemented with 1/4 cup of half and half. My husband and I both love it.. It is a beautiful flavor with the rhubarb.. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tj7933

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Really good recipe to have on hand. It turned out really good but I think next time I will alternate layers of strawberries and rhubarb for some more flavor. I did not reduce the sugar and would not reccomend doing so. It was just the right balance of sour and sweet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeanMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Anselmo, California, USA
Living In: Live Oak, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This was good. I thought the crust was a little soggy. In the future, I think I would use an egg wash on crust and bake that for a few minutes first. I added the topping after the first higher baking tempurature. I would suggest adding some cinnamon and/or nutmeg to the topping for some added flavor. Overall, very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albertville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States