Rhubarb Sour Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Outstanding! Mine came out a bit on the soupy side but the taste is so good it wins a 5 anyhow. Will add one teaspoon of cornstarch next time to the custard to thicken, but very nice meld of flavours and good ratio of sugar to rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This was so easy to prepare. Delicious. Everyone I served it to loved it. Thank you! I will definitely make this again and will share the recipe with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This recipe is excellent. I may reduce the sugar next time, and only had 3/4 cup sour cream, so supplemented with 1/4 cup of half and half. My husband and I both love it.. It is a beautiful flavor with the rhubarb.. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tj7933

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Really good recipe to have on hand. It turned out really good but I think next time I will alternate layers of strawberries and rhubarb for some more flavor. I did not reduce the sugar and would not reccomend doing so. It was just the right balance of sour and sweet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeanMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Anselmo, California, USA
Living In: Live Oak, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This was good. I thought the crust was a little soggy. In the future, I think I would use an egg wash on crust and bake that for a few minutes first. I added the topping after the first higher baking tempurature. I would suggest adding some cinnamon and/or nutmeg to the topping for some added flavor. Overall, very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albertville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This was delicious. I subbed Greek-style strained fat-free yogurt for the sour cream and cut the sugar by 1/4 cup as suggested by some reviewers...it was YUMMY! Also used No Fail Pie Crust III from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I have always loved rhubarb. My family does not like custard, but when I tried this recipe I found the one they would eat. I have also tried it with plain yogurt too. They are both good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muchkin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is our favorite way to make rhubarb. My family, friends, and co-workers love it! I would give it 10 stars if I could. GREAT RECIPE! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is a great rhubarb pie recipe. It is better once it has sat in the fridge, so chill this one completely. The only changes I made was to use Splenda for Baking & Splenda Brown Sugar Blend in place of the sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cornell, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buda, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Oh dear heavens. This is wonderful. I am sooo glad I found this recipe! I took my frozen rhubarb out to thaw at lunchtime so I would be ready to go when I came home from work. I added some strawberries since I didn't have enough rhubarb - also reduced the sugar to 1 cup as others suggested (thank you for that) - and added a touch of cinnamon both to the sour cream mixture and to the crumb topping. Boy oh boy, if you love sweets made with rhubarb, you gotta try this! Thank you so much for posting the recipe! It's a really pretty pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States