Rhubarb Sour Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I made this pie using frozen rhubarb and I am very glad that I used all the sugar. Fresh rhubarb is much sweeter and doesn't require as much. Be sure to taste it and adjust the sugar. Awesome recipe. I don't like rhubarh and I loved this pie. Yummy. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by born2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Based on previous reviews, I decided to make this recipe. I do not like my rhubarb sweet , so I only added 1 cup of sugar. The sweetness/tartness was perfect. Since some reviews mentioned that there was over spill, I decided to add just a tsp of corn starch to the mixture and to place a cookie sheet underneath the pie pan. There was no spillage. I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
best rhubarb pie I've ever tasted! The creamy texture is a great way to avoid a runny pie and it combines perfectly with the tartness of the rhubarb. I've made this twice in the last 2 weeks (I have a lot of rhubarb!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
We first made this pie at the beginning of rhubarb season this year & we absolutely loved it's delicious creamy texture! We have shared this recipe with our family & several friends. In fact, we are making this pie to take to a BBQ today!! Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I make this pie every year as soon as the rhubarb is ready. I have 2 in the oven right now. My recipe differs slightly - only 1 cup sugar, 1/2 cup of sour cream and no egg. This should eliminate the boil over problem. A deep dish pie plate is always the best option as well. So, 5* for my variation. Our mouths are watering from the aroma...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
We joined a farm produce co-op for the summer and I was searching for an easy rhubarb recipe. This was the first one I tried and after tasting this my husband told me my search is over. This is just as delicious warm with vanilla ice cream as it is cold. Delicious as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This was good...I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I made this for a co-workers husband who had made me a beautiful box of Christmas cookies (I didn't have time). He along with with his whole family LOVED this. Easy and quick to make. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Phenomenal recipe. So tasty. I did not have a pie crust available and so I used a graham crumb crust instead. Worked just great. But definitly will use regular crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This recipe is amazingly wonderful. Don't change anything. I added more rhubarb and made a huge mess of my stove. So follow the recipe and you will have a desert everyone raves about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Preeceville, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States