Rhubarb Sour Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I make this pie every year as soon as the rhubarb is ready. I have 2 in the oven right now. My recipe differs slightly - only 1 cup sugar, 1/2 cup of sour cream and no egg. This should eliminate the boil over problem. A deep dish pie plate is always the best option as well. So, 5* for my variation. Our mouths are watering from the aroma...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
We joined a farm produce co-op for the summer and I was searching for an easy rhubarb recipe. This was the first one I tried and after tasting this my husband told me my search is over. This is just as delicious warm with vanilla ice cream as it is cold. Delicious as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This was good...I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I made this for a co-workers husband who had made me a beautiful box of Christmas cookies (I didn't have time). He along with with his whole family LOVED this. Easy and quick to make. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Phenomenal recipe. So tasty. I did not have a pie crust available and so I used a graham crumb crust instead. Worked just great. But definitly will use regular crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This recipe is amazingly wonderful. Don't change anything. I added more rhubarb and made a huge mess of my stove. So follow the recipe and you will have a desert everyone raves about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Preeceville, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Just ok. There was way too much filling and spilled over before I had even started to bake. It made quite a mess. No one oohed or aahed over this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe, very delicious. I noticed in other reviews that there were comments on how the pie was runny. I made it once with flour and it was runny, then I made a pie for my son that can't have gluten, and added cornstarch instead. The pie was much better with the same amount of cornstarch, not runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This pie was delicious!! I added an extra tablespoon of flour to the sourcream mixture and the pie cut beautifully. It wasn't runny at all. I took the advice of others and added a little cinnamon to the crumb topping. While it was cooking I was a little worried that the top would get too crispy and dark. It worked out, but I think next time I'll lower the temperature a few minutes earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Amazing! I didn't change a thing in this recipe and it was awesome! I'm going to freeze LOTS of rhubarb just so I can have this pie all year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States