Rhubarb Slush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
If you want to keep more rhubarb flavour, save the cooking water from step 1 to use as the ingredient water in step 2. Even with half the sugar it's plenty sweet, next time I will use Soda Water instead of lemon-lime pop. A great recipe- and fun to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
Instead on gin I used Maui Tropical Schnapps & that added a nice extra flavor to it. Very good way to use up your Rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
My husband swears this is the BEST slush ever! I go about making it a little differently. I put my chopped rhubarb in the saucepan and usually I toss in 1/2-1 c raspberries for color. Once tender, rather than draining and blending I just use my immersion blender. Then add the remaining ingredients (but only HALF the SUGAR) and I always use Brandy instead of Gin. Its so quick and easy - and delicious. UPDATE: I made this tonight with Blackberry Brandy and Grape juice concentrate instead of Orange (again 1/2 the sugar). Delicious! I think this might be my favorite version now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Barneveld, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
Sooo delicious and refreshing! I'm always going to have a batch of the slush on hand for company or a refreshing treat for myself. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
My company found this drink (I made it virgin) very refreshing. I plan on keeping a batch in the freezer for unexpected guests. Great way to use your rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
It's nice to find a beverage recipe to use all of my rhubarb in. This one didn't quite have enough rhubarb flavor in it for me, so I added another 1 c of rhubarb. i also reduced the sugar to 2/3 c instead of 1 c. That helped. Next time, I don't think I'll put quite as much orange juice. That seemed to overpower it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
A good way to use a lot of Rhubarb. I used rum instead of gin and it tasted great. I also recommend using a flavored sparkling H2O instead of pop as this recipe already has a lot of sugar. Four Stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Wasn't really that impressed with this recipe...lot of work and only an okay taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I don't quite know where to begin on this one. It is THE BEST drink ever! I served it to my neighbors over Memorial Day Weekend, and they are all frantically running out to the farmer's market to buy more rhubarb. The only thing I changed was I used strawberry vodka instead of gin and served Fresca over the top. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelican Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albertville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
this was Pheee-nominal pree-scrumptuous a-rugala. the best stuff i have ever had you will get your mind blown by the sheer intensity of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States