Rhubarb Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I randomly made this for a big waffle brunch we were hosting. We had over 40 people and many of them raved about the rhubarb "paste." I agree it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This was really good. Instead of butter, I just boiled a little water before adding the rhubarb! We ate this on icecream and toast and it is delicious! What is so great about it is that it's not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I made this exactly as written; perfect sweet-tart blend. Used a mandolin to slice it thin, but may just rough chop it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was wonderful! I rated it only 4 stars because I made several changes. I used a heaping 1/3 cup brown sugar and added some cinnamon and vanilla at the end. I also added some red food color since my rhubarb was pretty green. Delicious on angel food cake with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Yum! Added 1/4 tsp vanilla-great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Delish! I probably had more rhubarb than the recipe called for -- in fact, I doubled the recipe, at the very least, and doubled the ingredients, but believe I had quite a bit more than twice the rhubarb. Anyway, it is very tart and very delicious. A great way for a single person to use up her rhubarb instead of a fattening pie. I also made homemade granola and so for breakfast I had the sauce with granola. Tomorrow, going to pick up some vanilla low fat yogurt and make parfaits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This is so delicious I could eat it by itself. But it's amazing over ice cream too. I followed the recipe except added some vanilla. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Delicious in plain yogurt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
The amount of sugar is about right, but I note that you don't need the butter, just cover the bottom of the pan with water, bring to a boil then cover and lower to a simmer for about 15-20 minutes. No need to stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Awesome recipe!! I grew up with rhubarb, but had never had sauce until tonight. WOW!! I could eat the entire batch! I added a tiny bit of vanilla as other reviewers suggested. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States