Rhubarb Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
Thank you, I remember this from when I was a child, but didn't know it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
Definately need this sauce when eating the rhubarb muffins. excellent and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
Childhood memories...my grandmother used to make this and I loved it. This is a quick way to make it!!!! Thanks for sharing -- I made some and gave it to my mother.........she loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Thanks for this quick and easy recipe, yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This was way TOO sweet for me. I had to go get more rhubarb to tone it down, otherwise I would have had to throw it away. For me half the sugar called for is more than enough and I'm not a fan of sour things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
Yummy! Easy, no-fuss recipe. Thick enough when cool to use as jam on toast. I will make this again, probably with less sugar (the sweet/sour ratio being a matter of personal preference). I will use this method for stewed rhubarb, too: it was 'stewed' at about 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I also find the recipe too sweet. I rate it as a 5 with the following changes: Use the rhubarb in a ratio of 2:1 with sugar, for example, 1 C. rhubarb to 1/2 C. sugar. Also, add a pinch of salt and some vanilla after it has cooked. My small batch cooked in 4 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Perfect!! So easy yet so delicious, I served it on top of crepes...wonderful! Just watch it closely so that your microwave doesn't become a disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Excellent! Brought back childhood memories of dixie cups full of sugar and fresh picked rhubarb stalks! I used 2 cups frozen rhubarb that was cut in pieces; after thawing I diced it, added 1/2 cup sugar and microwaved it at 2 minute intervals stirring each time. We'll use it over my sister's cheesecake this afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This seemed like too much sugar, so I decreased it to 1 1/2 cups - and the sauce still came out more like soup than sauce. Even after cooling in the fridge, it was still pretty soupy. I did use sucanot for part of the sugar - maybe that made a difference? Next time I'll try just 1/4 cup sucanot, and perhaps 1 cup sugar. The sucanot adds a nice light molassas flavor to the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States