Rhubarb Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Some slight modifications, but this turned out great! I used about 2 cups of rhubarb and about 1/4 cup of artificial sweetener (Splenda). I cooked it for 3 minutes, then stirred, cooking for a total of 12 minutes. I sprinkled some salt on top, and added about 1 tsp of vanilla. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was a very quick and easy recipe that tasted really good. I did cut back on the sugar, and added some butter. It was really good over pork chops. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tigerton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Easy, but too sweet. I would suggest cutting back on the sugar and then adding more if you think you need it. I used about 1 1/4 cups of "brown" sugar. I added a pat of butter and a sprinkle of cinnamon. Mine was much shorter than twelve minutes to be the consistency I wanted, but I did add a little water, so maybe that quickened the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Fantastic! I used only 1 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This was really good with some changes. I used 2 cups of rhubarb to only one cup of sugar. I really felt that this was the perfect ratio of sugar to rhubarb (sweet to tart). This came out with a perfect jelly-like consistency and will be absolutely delicious drizzled over oatmeal, ice cream or cake. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
YUMMY!! like others, I seriously decreased the sugar to about 1 cup rhubarb to 1/4 c sugar. One batch, I used Strawberry Jello and a little water instead of sugar - nice...brings back childhood memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This seemed like too much sugar, so I decreased it to 1 1/2 cups - and the sauce still came out more like soup than sauce. Even after cooling in the fridge, it was still pretty soupy. I did use sucanot for part of the sugar - maybe that made a difference? Next time I'll try just 1/4 cup sucanot, and perhaps 1 cup sugar. The sucanot adds a nice light molassas flavor to the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Excellent! Brought back childhood memories of dixie cups full of sugar and fresh picked rhubarb stalks! I used 2 cups frozen rhubarb that was cut in pieces; after thawing I diced it, added 1/2 cup sugar and microwaved it at 2 minute intervals stirring each time. We'll use it over my sister's cheesecake this afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Perfect!! So easy yet so delicious, I served it on top of crepes...wonderful! Just watch it closely so that your microwave doesn't become a disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States