Rhubarb Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I also find the recipe too sweet. I rate it as a 5 with the following changes: Use the rhubarb in a ratio of 2:1 with sugar, for example, 1 C. rhubarb to 1/2 C. sugar. Also, add a pinch of salt and some vanilla after it has cooked. My small batch cooked in 4 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
Childhood memories...my grandmother used to make this and I loved it. This is a quick way to make it!!!! Thanks for sharing -- I made some and gave it to my mother.........she loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
Definately need this sauce when eating the rhubarb muffins. excellent and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This was way TOO sweet for me. I had to go get more rhubarb to tone it down, otherwise I would have had to throw it away. For me half the sugar called for is more than enough and I'm not a fan of sour things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
Yummy! Easy, no-fuss recipe. Thick enough when cool to use as jam on toast. I will make this again, probably with less sugar (the sweet/sour ratio being a matter of personal preference). I will use this method for stewed rhubarb, too: it was 'stewed' at about 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Some slight modifications, but this turned out great! I used about 2 cups of rhubarb and about 1/4 cup of artificial sweetener (Splenda). I cooked it for 3 minutes, then stirred, cooking for a total of 12 minutes. I sprinkled some salt on top, and added about 1 tsp of vanilla. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Perfect!! So easy yet so delicious, I served it on top of crepes...wonderful! Just watch it closely so that your microwave doesn't become a disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
Thank you, I remember this from when I was a child, but didn't know it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Excellent! Brought back childhood memories of dixie cups full of sugar and fresh picked rhubarb stalks! I used 2 cups frozen rhubarb that was cut in pieces; after thawing I diced it, added 1/2 cup sugar and microwaved it at 2 minute intervals stirring each time. We'll use it over my sister's cheesecake this afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
YUMMY!! like others, I seriously decreased the sugar to about 1 cup rhubarb to 1/4 c sugar. One batch, I used Strawberry Jello and a little water instead of sugar - nice...brings back childhood memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States