Rhubarb Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
My favorite Rhubarb recipe so far!!! Yum, Yum!!! I took previous writer’s advice to add red food coloring to syrup and froze the dough for 20 mins. prior to rolling out to avoid stickiness. I also used my food precessor to finely chop the Rhubarb. Worked great! Caution!!! A bit messy!!! Don’t assemble when you have mail on your counter! May use less sugar and add pureed Rhubarb to the syrup next time for extra flavor. But it doesn’t need it. Great the way this recipe written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This recipe mimics my in-laws' cherished family rhubarb rolls recipe and tasted just as good! The only difference I made was I used brown sugar in the filling (instead of white) and I added a bit more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I was unsure how this recipe would turn out, but it was great in spite of a significant error that I made (adding the sugar to the chopped rhubarb too soon). I didn't realize that the sugar would pull SO much liquid out of the rhubarb SO quickly! So, don't do what I did -- make sure that you add the sugar to the rhubarb just seconds before you place it on the dough! These rhubarb roles were a great hit and tasted just as good the next day. I will definitely make these again -- and these rhubarb roles motivated me even more strongly to grow my own rhubarb next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saint Anne
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Oh wow! More dishes than I like to wash for one recipe, but these were quite a treat. Followed a helpful review to add more 2 cups rhubarb with the water for the syrup and simmered until tender before adding the 1 cup sugar. The rolls were still very sweet but had just a touch of tart. I also used 2 drops red food coloring to give the sauce a slight pink hue. Rolled the dough out on a floured pastry cloth- no problem with stickiness. Biscuit-type rolls were tender and moist but not soggy. I'm freezing my rhubarb in 5 cup increments for future Rhubarb Rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Anne
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Excellent!! I will cut down on the sugar though because I thought it was a little sweet. May try with granny smith apples, cinnamon, & brown sugar for another variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
This is VERY GOOD!! sent this on to alot of friends. I had some pie cust and used that;; worked just fine. You might think you have alot of juice~but there is not. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
SO GOOD! One thing we did a little different was to puree some of the rhubarb so that it wasn't all just chopped up rhubarb. We then mixed it together with the chopped rhubarb and strained out some of the juice. It was definitely messy, but so delicious and a different way to use up all my rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Very tasty and interesting way to use rhubarb! I chilled the dough in the freezer for 20 mins due to its stickiness. When I rolled it out I did it on floured wax paper. This worked great. The glaze you pour on before baking seems like a ton of liquid, but it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
These are so good my family just loved them. Never changed a thing. Don't be put off by the amount of liquid it gets soaked up. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States