Rhubarb Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I must have done something wrong. The dough was so sticky, I had to keep throwing flour at it just to roll out. Then, I couldn't roll it up once it was full of rhubarb, because the rhubarb kept ripping and poking out of the dough. It should be made on wax paper to facilitate rolling up. I finally dumped everything willy nilly in the 13x9 pan and then poured the syrup over and it came out with a nice crust, but all gooey and sticky and yucky at the bottom. It looked awful. My husband ate the top baked portion with the rhubarb, but even the dogs wouldn't touch the slimey bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Excellent!! I will cut down on the sugar though because I thought it was a little sweet. May try with granny smith apples, cinnamon, & brown sugar for another variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
This is VERY GOOD!! sent this on to alot of friends. I had some pie cust and used that;; worked just fine. You might think you have alot of juice~but there is not. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
This recipe is a family favorite, to the syrup we add 2 cups chopped Rhubarb to make a basting syrup. Also we like to add some red food coloring to the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was really, really good. Like another user stated it was sticky and hard to roll up, but it sure tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
SO GOOD! One thing we did a little different was to puree some of the rhubarb so that it wasn't all just chopped up rhubarb. We then mixed it together with the chopped rhubarb and strained out some of the juice. It was definitely messy, but so delicious and a different way to use up all my rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
These are so good my family just loved them. Never changed a thing. Don't be put off by the amount of liquid it gets soaked up. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Very tasty and interesting way to use rhubarb! I chilled the dough in the freezer for 20 mins due to its stickiness. When I rolled it out I did it on floured wax paper. This worked great. The glaze you pour on before baking seems like a ton of liquid, but it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This recipe mimics my in-laws' cherished family rhubarb rolls recipe and tasted just as good! The only difference I made was I used brown sugar in the filling (instead of white) and I added a bit more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
My favorite Rhubarb recipe so far!!! Yum, Yum!!! I took previous writer’s advice to add red food coloring to syrup and froze the dough for 20 mins. prior to rolling out to avoid stickiness. I also used my food precessor to finely chop the Rhubarb. Worked great! Caution!!! A bit messy!!! Don’t assemble when you have mail on your counter! May use less sugar and add pureed Rhubarb to the syrup next time for extra flavor. But it doesn’t need it. Great the way this recipe written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Clover Leaf Rolls

See the recipe and get the story behind it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States