Rhubarb-Raspberry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Modified the recipe for my lifestyle as follows: 1/4 c sugar, 3/8 c splenda, 3 T corn starch and 6 oz (1 1/2 c raspberries) for the rhubarb/raspberry filling. Used 1/4 c each brown sugar, whole wheat flour, oats and butter. Baked in a 9x9 square pan. I would make it again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
very easy to ake and was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is quite good! However, I agree with other reviewers on two points: 1) This should be for a 9x9 pan. It already seemed a little thin in the square pan, I can't imagine trying to stretch it out to a 9x13. 2) Way too much sugar and butter! I don't usually shy away from sweet and buttery, but even cutting back to 3/4 c. sugar and 1/3 c. butter, it was too much. Next time I'll try 1/2 c. sugar and 1/4 c. butter. Other than that, the flavors here are superb. I didn't have tapioca so I subbed another tablespoon of cornstarch--probably not necessary, it was super thick. I might try adding a little cinnamon to the topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This recipe is easy enough but turned out way too sweet and runny! If i were to make it again I would probably use half the amount of sugar in the dry mix and add more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was excellent although I had to do some adjusting - I increased the raspberries to approx. 4 cups and reduced the rhubarb to approx. 2.5 cups only because that was the kind of quantities I had. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and baked in a 9 X 9 square pan. Absolutely delicious - my husband said that it was the best raspberry crisp he had ever had and he would eat it all.............and he did except for a small corner square - and I do mean small. And it was so easy - thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
The recipe as written gets three stars, for the reasons others have pointed out: too much sugar (I cut the granulated sugar by half); and it doesn't make nearly as much as the recipe says. I make it in an 8x8 pan, and it fits nicely. With those few tweaks, though, this makes a delicious crumble. I play with the fruits every time I make it, adding different berries, more berries than rhubarb, etc., and it always comes out great. The crumb-to-filling ratio is about 1:1, which is how I like it. But if you like more filling, cut the crumb back a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Delicious! I doubled recipe but only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar. Baked in 9 x 13. I've made with raspberries and strawberries and we enjoyed both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was great! I relied on several of the other reviews and made some modifications. I didn't have tapioca, so I added a tablespoon of flour with the cornstarch etc. and it worked out fine. I also reduced the amount of sugar to 3/4 c. All my fruit (4 c. rhubarb, bag blueberries, about 1 cup raspberries) was frozen, so I drained off nearly all of the liquid from them so that the crisp wasn't too runny. When measured out, it was probably about 6 cups of fruit and I put it in an 8 x 8 pan. I used all of the crumble, but I reduced the butter to 6 T instead of the full stick. The proportions seemed just right and the crisp was tart/sweet. Served with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
So yummy!!! I used 4c frozen Raspberries & 4c fresh Rhubarb and it was delicious. I skipped the tapioca and used about 3 heaping tbsp of cornstarch. A smidge more topping would've been nice given I added a lot of extra fruit... but perfectly tart-sweet! I served it warm & drizzled with unsweetened heavy cream, looking forward to making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I read all the reviews ... doubled the berries ... turned out runny ... and 45 minutes left the rhubarb a bit too crunchy to our taste. But nice flavor! I'd try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States